Roasted Chicken with Risotto and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
We're risotto aficionados and thoroughly enjoyed this dish. Don't be alarmed by the nay sayers. The onions and balsamic vinegar are delicious in the rice (I drained the excess vinegar before adding the onions to the dish). I added some sautéed mushrooms and some peas to make it a one dish meal. We're looking forward to using the left overs for crispy risotto cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Wonderful flavor mixes; from the balsamic vinegar to the carmelized onions and thyme. We loved it. I did purchase a small 28oz rotisserie chicken that was on sale so we probably had twice as much chicken,and I only used about 5 1/2 cups of broth, but other than that I did not change anything else. My husband called it the best in comfort food. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Not sure if I did something wrong or the balsamic vinegar I used but the balsamic just over powered the dish. I did everything as the recipe stated except added mushrooms. It smelled great and looked great but the vinegar was just over powering. I will try again and use less balsamic next time. I read reviews before I made it and no one mentioned it so I'm thinking it may have been something I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I used the crock pot caramelized onion recipe for this & then followed the rest of recipe as stated except for adding sun dried tomatoes. It was delicious! Will definitely make again. Might add sautéed mushrooms also next time. Easy - once you have made the crock pot onions - and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I tried this recipe as written. However I like mine 10 star more. I use dry vermouth instead of wine matter of choice. I caramelize the onions remove set aside, in same skillet add 1-2 Tbsps. butter if available fresh chopped shitake, baby portabellas, oyster mushrooms and crimini, a combination of mushrooms is best, sauté when soft and cooked to liking, combine with the caramelized onion reserve for later. There should be enough butter/olive oil no need to add additional, didn't care for the balsamic vinegar so I omitted it. Stir in rice as instructed then add vermouth or white wine, until absorbed then begin adding broth 1 cup at a time until your risotto is done to your liking. It always amazes me how anyone can cook risotto in 20 minutes mine is always at least 30-45 minutes. You need to stay with this adding more broth as it absorbs. When done add the mushroom/onions stir in salt and pepper to taste. I also use fresh grated parmesan and I prefer parsley to thyme. I know I completely changed this up just though I would share my version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I added mushrooms, cooked chicken, and peas to make it more of an entrée. It was delicious!! I love the onion, mushroom, and balsamic vinegar combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Quinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I don't know why we give 5 stars to recipes that we've altered somehow, but here I go, doing just that. I took to heart other reviewers thoughts about the balsamic being too much and halved it to only 2 tbs, instead of the 1/4c it calls for. Also, I used the stock from the previous night's roasted chicken, and added some chicken bouillon to it for flavor. In addition, I probably used closer to 3 cups of chicken, as it's what I had leftover. The result? Oh.em.gee. It was wonderful! I've never made a rissotto before, and I'm feeling pretty impressed with myself over it. One note: I did make sure the wine AND the stock were fairly hot when I added it to the rice mix, and it took far longer than 20 minutes for it all to absorb--"20 minutes" was much more like "one hour". But no matter--I'll be making it again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Horrible recipe. BV and rice are NOT a good combination. One thing I got out of it is that thyme encrusted chicken is delicious, so at least that part will be used again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Delicious!! Yes, Risotto takes a while to cook, but it is worth the effort. I added some sautéed mushrooms before adding the rice. I also halved the balsamic since my Wife isn't a big fan. She really liked it though. The balsamic adds a nice sweetness along with the caramelized onions. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Palace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I made this last night for the family and it was super tasty! I used my own chicken breasts that I seasoned, pan seared in olive oil and then finished in oven while I got the onions going. I took others advice about cutting back on the balsamic and only used about 1 1/2 TBSP. My risotto only needed about 5 cups of broth. I will definitely be making this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States