Roasted Chicken Broth Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Yes, this was good and enjoyable to make, as I love to cook, but I can't help but think it was a waste of time, money and most of all electricity. Even when using a pre-baked chicken for the broth, it calls for 3 hours of simmering. That's 3 hours of constant gas-fire stove, doing nothing to help my environmental footprint.. When weighing the cost benifits….why not just purchase a few boxes of Swanson Chicken Broth?? That's NOT a rhetorical question….
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Great broth! Used it for the chicken noodle soup by Chef John. Best chicken noodle soup I've had in awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Yep! Chef J's recipes not only turn out great, but somehow teach basic cooking skills at the same time. I had a 9-pound stuffer-roaster (!) and knew the broth I wanted from it would not fit in a single Dutch oven, so I roasted the chicken and veggies, then took everything out, saved 2 T fat for his chicken soup, deglazed and got the brown bits with water, and then put everything in a big stock pot. And, the dark meat, rather than being discarded, made our pups very happy for their supper! (very, very careful to remove all bones, of course)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Terry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
best stock i ever made. does take the time but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Easy to make, even if you have chicken broth from something else you made, you can add the ingredients and it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I have made this several times now as there was a tremendous sale on chicken I couldn't pass up! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the ketchup. There is so little of it and I just didn't want that in my "natural" broth. It was good, but a little light on flavor for me and kind of too much work. (4 stars as written) So - I simplified. I roasted the chicken & veggies as directed. I separated the meat then roasted the bones. I placed the chicken bones and the veggies in my crock pot. I deglazed the roasting pan with a good cup or so of white wine and put in the crock pot as well. I added enough water to cover everything by an inch and set the crock pot to low. I let this cook overnight. In the morning I removed the bones and veggies. I skimmed the broth and let it cool until I could put the whole thing in the refrigerator. Once cold I removed the fat easily and underneath that was a beautiful, rich, gelatinous stock. Quite flavorful. I froze the stock in 16 ounce containers. Easy and no babysitting the stove! (5 stars with these changes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I love this broth, it is the most flavorful one I have ever made. It is also very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I've made this several times now and usually make enough to freeze some broth for later use. I wanted to make some of Chef Johns chicken noodle soup yesterday but only had one quart of broth. So instead of starting from scratch I bought one of those Rotisserie chickens, removed the breast meat and threw the bones, skin and all the rest into the stock pot with some carrots, onion, celery and garlic I'd carmellized in 2 Tb. butter. Simmered it for three hours as directed in Chef Johns recipe with his called for ingredients and Ta Da, I had 2 more quarts of stock that was just as tasty as the original home roasted one. I have found that the browner you get your roasted chicken to begin with the richer your stock will be. It does take all day if you roast your own chicken and mine is never browned or done in 1 hour so I usually make the stock on a day I have more time and then freeze it, if I'm not using it in the next day or so for soup. Love this recipe. I never liked my homemade chicken noodle soup until I found this recipe and his Chicken Noodle soup recipe also on AR. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Turned out so very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
EXCELLENT! One of the things that I did different: After I removed all of the skin and the meat after the roasting time of the chicken - I roasted the bones and the veggies from the pot (I added more onions, carrot and celery) on an oiled baking sheet and baked them at 400°F for ~ 30 minutes so to extract a richer flavor from the bones and the veggies. I followed the remainder of the recipe except I substituted a large dried bay leaf in place of the thyme, added some fresh celery leafs from a celery bunch and black peppercorns after all of the foam and fat had been skimmed off. I never omit bay leafs, celery leafs or peppercorns when I make a broth/stock. I was leery of using ketchup in a broth but I used the Hunts® brand of ketchup because it doesn’t have any high fructose corn syrup in it. Note: I wash off the dirt but I never pare carrots nor peel the outside skin off of onions for making broth/stock because I strive for all of the natural flavor and color that I can get into a broth/stock. After all, the broth is strained well and the bones seasonings and veggies are discarded at the end. The end result was perfect for my tastes and the ketchup added a surprisingly nice touch of flavor to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Chicken Broth

The key to delicious chicken noodle soup is the broth.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States