Roasted Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These didn't work for us. I'm sure the recipe is fine but we weren't thrilled with the taste of chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Served this as an offering at a holiday party. Everybody raved! The only extra I added was cinnamon sugar (just a sprinkle) instead of cinnamon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
If you can get the Italian type of Chestnuts, that is best...they are larger. Get them fresh if you can. If fresh, let them sit in a layer for 5 or 6 days so the skin separates from the meat inside. Then, cut an X in the skin on the flat side. Boil them for about 10 minutes before roasting. Roast at 425 degrees for 60 minutes. Stir a few times during roasting so that they roast evenly. Roast on a flat cookie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbie
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I've never had Chestnuts before so there is a good chance that I'd just not like these no matter what the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
It was a bit difficult to get them peeled, but loved the flavor. Maybe the ones we got were not good or I didn't cook long enough. I will try it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Make sure to cut nice big Xs in your chestnuts to facilitate peeling and don't store them in a plastic bag. I learned this the hard way when I ended up with many hard to crack and moldy nuts. The ones I salvaged were good. I used less butter and added sugar, cloves and cayenne. The result was delicious, spicy-sweet candied chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Pretty good. The easiest way to handle chestnuts is to cut a horizontal slit on the flat side. Soak them in salt water for 30-60 minutes. Cook them like the recipe says, and when they are still warm, squeeze the shell on the top and bottom of the slit. The shell will break in half easily and the nut should slide right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
.. I 'forgot' to cut the chestnuts not long ago. They didn't explode. However, they were very difficult to shell. I cooked them in garlic butter. Lovely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I tried this exactly as directed. Cooking the chestnuts for 25 minutes, then frying and then cooking again. They were over done and super dry - we ended up just throwing them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wearydreamer

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States