Roasted Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I used this recipe for the cooking part. I then tried to cook them in the microwave. And at the time I was making ribs on the grill. So I wrapped some chestnuts in foil and grilled them on indirect heat for 3 hours. The grilled plain chestnuts came out the best. Soft and tender the next day(in the shell). I then whacked them a couple of time with a hammer to crack the shells. Then they peeled easy. I will experiment more with the microwave oven, so I can make them at work. Caution, I did have one blow up in the microwave. Made a mess, poke a good hole in the shell and cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Pretty good, but only for the first few hours. They went rock-hard after a while and I was really disappointed. I left out the cinnamon and the overall flavor was delicious! (I don't think that cinnamon would really go with them.) They tasted a little like Butternut squash! I also peeled them when they were still hot like some others said, and it was easy. I will definitely make them again, but I won't cook them as long. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ Food!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I ran across this while trying to find a basic roasted chestnuts recipe for Christmas. I followed the directions, slashing the X across the fat, rounded part of the chestnuts. (I accidentally cut through two of them, but that was OK.) I put them on a cookie sheet and baked at 375 for 25 minutes. As SOON as they came out, I carefully peeled the chestnuts one by one. The chestnuts were soft. I tried one before frying in butter, and it had an interesting if not plain flavor. I only put them in butter for about 3 minutes. The butter is mostly for flavor, NOT for cooking... that is important to know! I took them out, then sprinkled them with cinnamon and salt. I did NOT re-bake since they seemed pretty much done at that point. We all ate them up with gusto. What a unique holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Taste was 5 stars, but too long in the oven left the chestnuts too hard. Probably I wasn't paying close enough attention, but next time, I will just pan fry them a bit and skip the oven. Also, I used one 2 parts sugar, 1 part cinnamon, and 1/2 part ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Too hard to peel the shell off...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Ok, here it goes. Chestnuts are still a staple in some parts of the world, and one of my favorite memories from home when I was growing up. First, when you buy them, pick chestnuts that large, hard and heavy. Those are less likely to be moldy. Also make sure there are no tiny holes in them. Don't let them sit around for days before using them, but if you must, store them at room temperature, in a paper bag. If they are too hard for you roasted, try them boiled, 30 min in medium low heat should do it, but if roasting, they have to roast for the time specified (I prefer 450 degree oven for 30 min), any less and they will be raw!!! Boiled chestnuts work better in stuffings and other dishes. Rasted chestnuts can be too hard. Like others said, the chestnuts have to be peeled when they are still hot. Keep them wrapped in a towel and peel them one at the time. Chestnuts that peel well when cold are stale/old, and therefore not at the peak of their flavor. To peel boiled chestnuts easily, make sure to work in sections and quickly so that the inner skin does not dry up. Still, sometimes it can be a pain, but I love the taste and it is well worth it for me. This recipe is interesting, but I really prefer them plain. They have their own unique taste, why mess with a good thing? If you never had chestnuts before try them plain first. Hope this enhances your enjoyment of chestnuts :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I don't know what I did wrong. I followed the recipe to a T, but even after the first "session" in the oven (I had them in there only 25 minutes), the nuts were so hard we couldn't crack them, let alone bite or chew them. I tried a second batch for only 20 minutes, but after the 2nd session in the oven they were again too hard. Only 2 or 3 were still soft enough to eat, and they were very tasty, but this was a big waste of money as the cheapest I could find was 10 chestnuts for $3.50. 3 edible nuts at a cost of $7 is quite a disappointment. I would suggest only baking 20 minutes, then sauteing in the pan and leave out the 2nd baking session.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was really yummy! They were great right out of the oven. Yes, they're time consuming and my thumb was raw by the time I was done shelling them but hey, it's only once a year. They don't reheat well though - the next day the leftovers were pretty greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
On a whim we bought chestnuts for the "season". We soaked them (an idea from another website) to make the shells a little softer. Then we scored them with a Dremmel tool...a "must". We cooked them for the 25 minutes. We put them in a brown paper bag to keep the humidity in (another website suggestion) and then prepared according to the recipe. We tried small plates with different combinations...1. salt and cinnamon (two thumbs down) 2. sugar and cinnamon (two thumbs way down...too plain) 3. sugar, salt and cinnamon (yuck) 4. cinnamon and honey (something wrong there too) 5. cinnamon, honey and salt (yuck) 6. lots of garlic salt (too garlicky...yuck) and 7. a hint of garlic salt (probably the best...but, can only eat a little of it and then it is too much). We also tried them plain and noticed they did have a little flavor...we just don't know what that flavor would be best in...probably a side ingredient rather than the main ingredient. I guess we would have starved to death 1000 years ago when it was a staple, but luckily we have a refrigerator. I think I would try a soup or stuffing next time...IF there is a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Jones Price

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This was great! Also instead of using cinnamon for half i tried garlic. It turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States