Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Yaya_77
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
The creamiest soup I've ever had. I used the green part of the leek as well and I didn't have chervil. Big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
It is a very tasty soup. I added the flour at the same time as the leeks and it turned into a gloppy mess that stuck to the pan. Next time I would sauté the leeks until tender before adding the flour. At 275 degrees, I had to roast the cauliflower almost an hour to soften it. Next time I would set the temp much higher. I wanted to replace the cream with whole milk, so I did not add it at the time that the instructions said, I left it near the end of the simmering time. I found it odd to be adding it so early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Chittick Robichaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This soup is delicious, but I admit I did make some changes. First of all, I roasted the leeks with the cauliflower, garlic, and olive oil. I also added some celery to the roasting pan because I had it and it needed to be used. Once everything well roasted down (closer to an hour in the oven), I added it to the vegetable broth (used 2 cartons) and brought to a simmer for 20 minutes. For spices, I used thyme and fresh ground pepper. Then I used an immersion blender to mix. I did not add any dairy to it right away because it didn't need it and it's healthier without heavy cream. Once you reheat it (leftovers are even better than fresh), add a splash of fat-free half and half it you need the creaminess. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I made several changes to the recipe to turn it into a rich, thick, savory soup. I used 1/4 vegetable bouillon and 3/4 chicken stock. I turned up the oven temp to 420 and roasted the cauliflower about 25 minutes, until it was lightly caramelized. I then pureed half the cauliflower with half the stock before adding it to the sauteed leeks to which I had already added a shallot. Instead of using heavy cream, I used 1/2 half-and-half and 1/2 2% milk. I didn't have tarragon, so I took the spices in a different direction. In addition to sea salt and cracked pepper, I used 2 bay leaves, a whole star anise, 3/4 tsp cumin, and 2 tsp Morten & Basset Chinese 5-Spice. I simmered all of this on very low heat (it wasn't even bubbling) without a lid for about an hour. To serve the soup, I added a garnish of shishito peppers, fried on medium heat in olive oil on one side until they blistered. I then used tongs to turn them over, added some sea salt and blistered the other side. When they were done (about 8 minutes total), I removed them from the pan and poured the olive oil from the frypan into the soup. Then I coarsely diced the peppers and mounded them in the middle of the serving. I think peppered bacon would add a nice kick as an alternate garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Peak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
A couple of thoughts: I pureed half of the soup. Didn't have cream but substituted a can of cream of chicken soup. Baked some bacon and crumbled it. Added a touch of cheddar cheese on top. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Absolutely amazing! I increased the heat on the cauliflower so I could get a better char and speed up the process. I also only added a pinch of chervil and puréed the soup in a blender. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This was a good low calorie soup. I blended it up and used 3 cloves of garlic, then added dried thyme and rosemary. It would be even better with bacon or ham. After weighing everything and using a calorie app, I came up with 188 calories per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Roasted at 400, used low fat evaporated milk to cut fat, and parsley, since no chervil. Immersion-blended some of cauliflower, but left a little chunky. Added about 1 tsp bacon bits to sauteed leeks. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States