Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I cut the cauliflower into bite sized pieces at 375 in a confectioners oven and thirty minutes was perfect. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Really good. I added Parmesan Cheese and a bit of crushed red pepper. Also, I didn't have chervil, so I substituted basil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Yum! I could not make exactly as written. However, if I could have it would have been just as delish, if not more. I roasted caulif in oven with baby carrots, 2 garlic cloves, drizzled with olive oil. Meanwhile, leeks were sauteing in olive oil, soon after added 3 diced potatoes. Skipped the flour and heavy cream altogether. Instead, I found a cream of onion soup in the cabinet to add to the chick stock. No spices used except for S&P. Used immersion blender to "cream" all together after simmering all for about an hour. Topped with shredded cheddar. So so so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This was quite a treat and turned out delicious and creamy. I followed some of the recommendations I read in the other reviews. I used only one big leek, roasted the cauliflower for 30 minutes in 400 degree temperature, used 1/3 cup of half n half cream instead of heavy whipping cream, 3/4 tsp pepper instead of 1 tablespoon, and dried parsley instead of the chervil. And I did blend half of the soup for a creamier texture. My whole family went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sher345

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I couldn't find me regular recipe so I found this one since it sounded about the same. I'll use this one from now on. The only difference I made was use chive oil instead of the chervil. I like to Mae cauliflower soup to use up leftover chive oil, so that made sense. Added fresh bread. I actually roasted the cauliflower in the morning while I was getting ready for work, so this was actually I pretty quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
The flavor of this was very unexpected. It almost reminded me of a canned cream soup or a clam chowder without the seafood. I always try to make things easy during the week. I just sauteed the vegetables in a 3" pot, added the liquid and simmered about 5 minutes, then put into my blender. I made a half a recipe, due to what I had, and yielded 3 servings or exactly half of the suggested amount for the full recipe. For ease I used 1 cup defrosted frozen leeks. I subbed milk for the small amount of cream. I dont know what chervil is, so that did not get added. To reduce the sodium, I just did a good pinch of salt instead of the amount suggested. I also made broth out of broth paste with half the amount suggested. It was still plenty salty. I also only did a good pinch of black pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Outstanding! Used parsley instead of chervil and used immersion blender on about half the soup. Per other's reviews, I roasted the cauliflower at 375 for about 30 min in convection oven. New favorite soup and I'm not a huge fan of cauliflower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Three-star rating for misinformation. I'm in the process of making this soup now, and the temperature is way off. 275 F doesn't come close to the temp necessary for roasting. I just raised the temp to 450 which is what many recipes recommend for roasting cauliflower. Blending part of the cauliflower sounds like a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
My mother-in-law had an abundance of cauliflower and she asked me to find something to do with it--this recipe fit the bill perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Exquisite recipe! I made exactly as written except for the roasting part – I broiled it for 10-15 mins after I tried baking the cauliflower at 275 for 30 mins per the recipe instructions. I agree with the other posters that it must be a typo. I also decided to puree 3 cups per another users suggestion. The taste is phenomenal. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe chefsquig! It’s a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States