Roasted Cauliflower Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jennie
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Please don't rate the recipe poorly because you didn't like the changes you made to the recipe. I made this soup as a healthy recipe to enjoy for lunch. Some butter, carrots & some freshly grated parmesan cheese would make this taste even better. * I do want to caution others that I used a large head of cauliflower. I would strongly encourage others to reduce the amount of garlic if they are not garlic lovers and the salt should probably be reduced to 1 teaspoon. You can always add more later. I like less broth & more veggies so others may also chose to add more milk & flour if a soupier consistency is desired. A medium sized roasting pan or 13"x9" pan is a better fit than the small roasting pan I noted in the recipe as it allows more room to toss. Jo's Rosemary Bread compliments this meal. (I add garlic powder & grated parmesan cheese to it.) Enjoy! ~Jennie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
OUTSTANDING! Deserves way more than 5 stars! This is one of the best soups I've tried. If you love garlic and you love cauliflower then you MUST try this recipe. The only suggestion I have is to use a potato masher on the cauliflower after it comes out of the oven,(before you add it to your soup pot.) I used a dry, white wine in place of the sherry and I think the head of cauliflower I had was exceptionally large, so I had to use an extra splash or two of both the milk and the chicken broth. Just use your best judgement to get the desired consistency you prefer. A very BIG thanks to Jennie for submitting this one; it's a definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
My husband and I found this recipe extremely good. I did what someone else suggested and cut the salt in half. I wouldn't make any other changes to it. It's perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
We LOVE this recipe. I tweaked it a bit. I roasted the cauliflower on 425. I roasted 4 whole garlic cloves with the cauliflower. I only used 1 heaping Tbsp. of flour. I used skim milk. I added 2 Tbsp. white wine instead of sherry. I blended half the soup in a blender, and then once it is all done, at this point, I add a second can of chicken broth. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Ronkonkoma, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This was a pleasant surprise in that it turned out better than what I had expected, both in taste and in looks! It's nutty flavor is reflected in the slightly brown color. Mildly sweet, but tempered by the garlic. Roasting the cauliflower gives this incredible flavor. I'm not a fan of nutmeg, so I left it out and didn't notice a loss. I omitted the flour as well, not seeing the need for it. Since I pureed half of the cauliflower and mashed the other half, this was plenty thick without it. The sherry adds a definite flavor dimension that makes this especially good. This cries out, however, for garnish - I reserved some of the roasted cauliflower florets and used them to top each serving along with roasted red pepper and a small sprig of parsley. Beautiful, delicious, and a nice alternative for getting your veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was fantastic!!! I used 3 medium heads of cauliflower, 1 cup Almond Breeze (we had no milk), and no butter. I roasted the cauliflower with cooking spray instead of olive oil and used fresh garlic. Instead of sherry, I used white wine (about 1/2 cup), and 3 cans of vegetable broth. I also used 2 onions. I blended all of the soup--it was fantastic!! Thanks for the delicious recipe--this is a wonderful way to use cauliflower and is so healthy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I couldn't believe how good this was! The only change I made was using white cooking wine in place of sherry. The cauliflower was definitely done in 30 minutes. It didnt make as much as I'd hoped - three regular (not that big) servings (it must be 6 small cups the recipe refers to). But it was perfectly seasoned and creamy (even though I used 1% milk) - I did blend half after adding the cauliflower. Oh and I did salt to taste, not the full amount. This was my first time having Cauliflower Soup - gotta love health food that doesnt feel like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
no lika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was ok, came together beautifully but I wasn't impressed with the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Beautiful cafe-au-lait color.The grace notes of sherry and nutmeg really make this special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States