Roasted Cauliflower Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jennie
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Please don't rate the recipe poorly because you didn't like the changes you made to the recipe. I made this soup as a healthy recipe to enjoy for lunch. Some butter, carrots & some freshly grated parmesan cheese would make this taste even better. * I do want to caution others that I used a large head of cauliflower. I would strongly encourage others to reduce the amount of garlic if they are not garlic lovers and the salt should probably be reduced to 1 teaspoon. You can always add more later. I like less broth & more veggies so others may also chose to add more milk & flour if a soupier consistency is desired. A medium sized roasting pan or 13"x9" pan is a better fit than the small roasting pan I noted in the recipe as it allows more room to toss. Jo's Rosemary Bread compliments this meal. (I add garlic powder & grated parmesan cheese to it.) Enjoy! ~Jennie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
A really delicious way to use cauliflower. Nice and hot and filling on a winter's evening. I agree with the contributor, though - lighten up on the salt. I halved it, and I still find it salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
My husband and I found this recipe extremely good. I did what someone else suggested and cut the salt in half. I wouldn't make any other changes to it. It's perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I couldn't believe how good this was! The only change I made was using white cooking wine in place of sherry. The cauliflower was definitely done in 30 minutes. It didnt make as much as I'd hoped - three regular (not that big) servings (it must be 6 small cups the recipe refers to). But it was perfectly seasoned and creamy (even though I used 1% milk) - I did blend half after adding the cauliflower. Oh and I did salt to taste, not the full amount. This was my first time having Cauliflower Soup - gotta love health food that doesnt feel like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was fantastic and easy! I sauteed some garlic in with the onion since I didn't have garlic salt to use in the roasting of the cauliflower. Also, I used white wine instead of sherry...a couple of glugs actually. Finally, I added a squeeze of lemon juice at the end. Very tasty and perfect for lunch or dinner with a nice baguette on the side! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Not sure what to give this recipe...half of the people I served it to loved it and half didn't like it at all. Those that liked it really loved the spices... Mine turned out a bit thick, so I had to add extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This is a great recipe, although I didn't add the Sherry or the nutmeg. It was excellent and is a perfect lunch with a peice of fresh bread!! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I didnt have any milk in the house, but did have a little heavy cream ~1/4 c. So used that and a little extra chicken broth. Also cut back on the flour...in fact I think that it might not even need any flour if you blend most of the cauliflower in the blender with the broth. Kept a few little pieces whole for texture. Nice first course soup. .UPDATE...I froze some of it and for some reason, it did not freeze well- had funny texture when I reheated nit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
good...we liked the flavor of the roasted cauliflower. However, it was WWAAYYYY too salty, so be careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Really tasty, my husband loved it & he has never really enjoyed cauliflower! He did add a "secret ingredient" which he declared to make this soup "the best!" (The secret ingredient was fresh ground black pepper)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States