Roasted Cauliflower Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I just finished making and eating this soup. One word - WOW! I made it per the instructions, except for roasting two large cloves of garlic with the cauliflower since my olive oil was plain. I liked that the ingredients were very simple and what I'd ordinarily have on hand. I can't wait to see how leftovers taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Very tasty! My bf ate the whole pot. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I love this recipe! Definitely agree with the reviews that it needs more liquids added to it - I added more broth and a little water. Also added more flour to thicken it up, and I love spicy things do I added some chili powder to give it some kick. i eat mostly vegan, so I used unsweetened almond milk and added Quinoa - which I LOVED!! Quinoa gives it more of a texture, takes on the flavor and is filling. Great soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I have made this soup several times and I just love it. I add about 4 whole cloves of garlic in the roasting pan and use my immersion blender at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Craig
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This is a great recipe. I did change a few things given that I am on a low carb diet. I roasted the cauliflower and onions together with the butter and spices. I also did not make a rue out of flour but used cream instead of milk. It is very tasty and I will definitely make again...the roasting process adds a really different flavor than your typical cauliflower soup and its a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
WAY too much salt. I think if only I had listened to the other commenters, it would have been delicious. Next time I'll add whatever other veggies I have lying around in the fridge and leave out most of the salt. I think the underlying taste is good, and I'll try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Very tasty! I used 3 cans of chicken broth because I was trying to stretch the soup farther as I was feeding several people. I roasted some carrots with the cauliflower and cut them up, then added them right before the soup was ready to be served. I also sauteed some celery along with the onions. This was a yummy soup. I served it with broccoli cheese cornbread from this site. It was a very satisfying dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Pretty solid soup. I like my soups a bit stronger in flavor, so I added in some cumin and used coconut milk to "pump up" the flavor a bit. Also, it could just be my oven, but the cauliflower only needed about 20 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle David Lehman
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
A couple of minor changes, roasted a head of garlic with the cauliflower. Sauteed the onion in canola oil rather than butter. I didn't have any sherry so I added a bit of white wine (Riesling) instead. Delicious, the whole family enjoyed it. *********************************************************************** I made this again last night. This time I roasted half of a large red pepper (cut in strips) with the cauliflower and 3 heads of garlic. I thought adding the red pepper would give a little bit of flavor but more importantly a little more color so the finished soup did not look like oatmeal as other readers complained. It was also delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle David Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Following the recipe almost to the letter (which is rare for me), this turned out well, however, I will definitely make changes for next time. In the future, I'll double the recipe, using 2 roasted heads of cauliflower and double the liquids for sure! I used all the seasonings in the recipe, but seasoned to taste rather than using the suggested measurements. The finished texture was reminiscient of cream of wheat, which I like, but I simply would've preferred more liquid to begin with so when I used my immersion blender, it would've been a smoother consistency. Easy adjustments for next time though, because this is strictly a personal preference. DH and DD weren't too impressed, but I was, simply because I've never been a big fan of cauliflower, and this recipe changed my mind. I absolutely LOVED the roasting part....will DEFINITELY roast my cauliflower anytime I need a tasty side dish (couldn't stop nibbling on it off the roasting pan, which I lined with parchment paper for easy cleanup). I'll tweak the recipe next time and see if I can't get it more to my liking, otherwise, it was a good stepping stone for me. Served with the Parmesan Knots from this site, it was a very filling dinner this evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States