Roasted Cauliflower Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This is a great recipe. I did change a few things given that I am on a low carb diet. I roasted the cauliflower and onions together with the butter and spices. I also did not make a rue out of flour but used cream instead of milk. It is very tasty and I will definitely make again...the roasting process adds a really different flavor than your typical cauliflower soup and its a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
WAY too much salt. I think if only I had listened to the other commenters, it would have been delicious. Next time I'll add whatever other veggies I have lying around in the fridge and leave out most of the salt. I think the underlying taste is good, and I'll try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Very tasty! I used 3 cans of chicken broth because I was trying to stretch the soup farther as I was feeding several people. I roasted some carrots with the cauliflower and cut them up, then added them right before the soup was ready to be served. I also sauteed some celery along with the onions. This was a yummy soup. I served it with broccoli cheese cornbread from this site. It was a very satisfying dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Pretty solid soup. I like my soups a bit stronger in flavor, so I added in some cumin and used coconut milk to "pump up" the flavor a bit. Also, it could just be my oven, but the cauliflower only needed about 20 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Lehman
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
A couple of minor changes, roasted a head of garlic with the cauliflower. Sauteed the onion in canola oil rather than butter. I didn't have any sherry so I added a bit of white wine (Riesling) instead. Delicious, the whole family enjoyed it. *********************************************************************** I made this again last night. This time I roasted half of a large red pepper (cut in strips) with the cauliflower and 3 heads of garlic. I thought adding the red pepper would give a little bit of flavor but more importantly a little more color so the finished soup did not look like oatmeal as other readers complained. It was also delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Following the recipe almost to the letter (which is rare for me), this turned out well, however, I will definitely make changes for next time. In the future, I'll double the recipe, using 2 roasted heads of cauliflower and double the liquids for sure! I used all the seasonings in the recipe, but seasoned to taste rather than using the suggested measurements. The finished texture was reminiscient of cream of wheat, which I like, but I simply would've preferred more liquid to begin with so when I used my immersion blender, it would've been a smoother consistency. Easy adjustments for next time though, because this is strictly a personal preference. DH and DD weren't too impressed, but I was, simply because I've never been a big fan of cauliflower, and this recipe changed my mind. I absolutely LOVED the roasting part....will DEFINITELY roast my cauliflower anytime I need a tasty side dish (couldn't stop nibbling on it off the roasting pan, which I lined with parchment paper for easy cleanup). I'll tweak the recipe next time and see if I can't get it more to my liking, otherwise, it was a good stepping stone for me. Served with the Parmesan Knots from this site, it was a very filling dinner this evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Delicious, hearty soup with a nice garlic flavor. I found that 30 min. was plenty of time for roasting the cauliflower. I used skim milk, and I like that this recipe is low-fat. I've been eating for lunch this week and it is very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is a delicious recipe!! 10 stars!! I had never had cauliflower soup until I made this and now I am hooked! I've made it 4 times in the past couple months! I do omit the nutmeg because I don't like the flavor. I toss the cauliflower with whatever seasoning I am in the mood for and also add fresh garlic. I also omitted the sherry just because I didn't have it. I like to mash my cauliflower before adding it to the liquid part and then use my submersion blender to further puree. Perhaps I chose an extra large head of cauliflower this time because I ended up doubling the chicken stock. I just LOVE this soup! I serve mine with a little shredded cheese and a dollop of Greek Yogurt (if I'm really cutting loose I put in some bacon pieces!). The only cauliflower soup recipe I will ever look for!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was a fantastic recipe! I didn't have 'roasted garlic-flavor' olive oil, but I did have some truffle olive oil and it was wonderful. I used a half cup of milk and added a half cup of cream (because I like the cream based soups), and I just stuck the immersion blender in the whole pot to blend some of the largest cauliflower pieces. The result was more of a 'chunky' soup, but we loved it. I'll definitely keep this recipe around for times in the future when I have leftover cauliflower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Very yummy! I wish I hadn't pureed a portion of the soup because it was better chunky. It was very difficult not to gobble up the freshly roasted and somewhat caramelized cauliflower. So good! I'll definitely be making that part again and again as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Strasburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States