Roasted Cauliflower Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Used the big container of chicken broth instead. Accidently added too much white pepper. Delicious! Next time will save some of the cauliflower and add back in at the end just for texture. One kid loved it, one kid hated it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is fabulous! I tossed the cauliflower with good olive oil (instead of spray) and added a red pepper and sautéed it with the onion. I had only one head of cauliflower but added 4 cups of water instead of 3. It was still creamy and tasty. Wow! Thanks for a new favorite recipe! I didn't feel the need to jazz up the recipe with other ingredients. I guess some might not appreciate the subtlety of the favors, but I did and I would definitely not want to change that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammyjammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I tried this recipe and love the taste of the roasted cauliflower and low-calorie, creaminess of it. Like the other reviewers I found it bland, so I added portobello mushrooms cooked in chicken stock and a dab of butter, with a couple of tablespoons of red wine. Rather than water I added organic chicken stock. One hint for soup makers, is that I make a seasoning base using one green paper, one large onion, 7 cloves of garlic (water,olive oil, or tomato paste to blend)blend well freeze it and then use a couple of tablespoons in your soups. I also make another version using cilantro and add it to my pumpkin soup. I recommend cooking it with olive oil, since it were frozen raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
It was delicious- perfect! Just what I was looking for. VERY SIMPLE to make and tastes just like a cream of potato soup! I sprinkle bacon bits on the top of each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I love the base for this recipe and added my touches to make it a little heartier. I added broccoli and carrots along with onions and garlic to chicken broth, instead of water. I'm a garlic lover, so I used garlic in both the broth and the roasted cauliflower. Once everything was cooked, I saved about 1/3 of the veggies, pureed the rest, chopped the saved veggies and added it to the puree. Tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This soup does come out a little bland and there is far more olive oil than needed. I put the cauliflower in a bowl with garlic cloves, sprayed it and added salt, pepper and some curry powder before roasting. Then instead of frying onions in oil, I boiled onions, celery and a carrot in vegetable broth. After that was mainly cooked, I added the roasted cauliflower to the broth for about 10 more minutes to make sure that it was well cooked for blending. Added a wee bit of cheddar to each bowl when serving. Yummy. It doesn't hurt to boil veggies in water, if you are going to eat the water too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I wanted a recipe for my 8 month old son who is not a fan of the single vegetable puree's anymore. This was perfect! I cut the recipe in half, added a yellow bell pepper as some of the other comments suggested and added a dash of curry powder. My son loved it and I liked it too. It freezes well for easy meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I added 2 slices of bacon when frying onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francoise Matthyssens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This was delicious! I didn't use the olive oil and it was still excellent. Adding curry powder, celery salt and using chicken broth instead of water worked magic. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
The soup gets two stars for fast and easy prep as well as its healthiness. I thought it was very bland and my husband complained that it was slightly bitter. I also found the texture to be almost a little greasy feeling on my tongue. I am sure with a few changes it would be tasty, but I don't have that time. We won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States