Roasted Cauliflower Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lisa diven
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This is a great recipe as-is. As originally created it is wonderful but a little bland for my taste, so I did modify the recipe a little to my likes, I added 1 yellow bell pepper, I used white pepper vs black pepper for appearance purposes and I like the taste better of white pepper. I also added some curry powder and celery salt. Instead of using chicken stock I used the water and added chicken granules for the basic same effect. I also added some fried tofu garnishes as well. This put the soup over the top in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa diven

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This was delicious! I didn't use the olive oil and it was still excellent. Adding curry powder, celery salt and using chicken broth instead of water worked magic. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Just tried this tonight. Really very good. I did modify the recipe a little and used vegetable broth instead of water for a richer flavor. I've been looking for more nutritious, lower calorie recipes, and this really fits the bill. We had this soup with fresh pitas and red pepper hummus for a nice light supper. Thanks for posting it! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I added 2 slices of bacon when frying onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francoise Matthyssens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I love the base for this recipe and added my touches to make it a little heartier. I added broccoli and carrots along with onions and garlic to chicken broth, instead of water. I'm a garlic lover, so I used garlic in both the broth and the roasted cauliflower. Once everything was cooked, I saved about 1/3 of the veggies, pureed the rest, chopped the saved veggies and added it to the puree. Tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I wanted a recipe for my 8 month old son who is not a fan of the single vegetable puree's anymore. This was perfect! I cut the recipe in half, added a yellow bell pepper as some of the other comments suggested and added a dash of curry powder. My son loved it and I liked it too. It freezes well for easy meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
It was delicious- perfect! Just what I was looking for. VERY SIMPLE to make and tastes just like a cream of potato soup! I sprinkle bacon bits on the top of each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
It was delish!!!!! And easy to make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is fabulous! I tossed the cauliflower with good olive oil (instead of spray) and added a red pepper and sautéed it with the onion. I had only one head of cauliflower but added 4 cups of water instead of 3. It was still creamy and tasty. Wow! Thanks for a new favorite recipe! I didn't feel the need to jazz up the recipe with other ingredients. I guess some might not appreciate the subtlety of the favors, but I did and I would definitely not want to change that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammyjammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This recipe is fantastic as a base! I followed the advice of another reviewer and spiced it up a bit using turmeric, cumin, coriander, and cayenne pepper. I also used veggie broth instead of water. This soup is AMAZING, and guilt free. Follow these substitutes and you'll be happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States