Roasted Cauliflower Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I tried this recipe and love the taste of the roasted cauliflower and low-calorie, creaminess of it. Like the other reviewers I found it bland, so I added portobello mushrooms cooked in chicken stock and a dab of butter, with a couple of tablespoons of red wine. Rather than water I added organic chicken stock. One hint for soup makers, is that I make a seasoning base using one green paper, one large onion, 7 cloves of garlic (water,olive oil, or tomato paste to blend)blend well freeze it and then use a couple of tablespoons in your soups. I also make another version using cilantro and add it to my pumpkin soup. I recommend cooking it with olive oil, since it were frozen raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
It was delicious- perfect! Just what I was looking for. VERY SIMPLE to make and tastes just like a cream of potato soup! I sprinkle bacon bits on the top of each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I love the base for this recipe and added my touches to make it a little heartier. I added broccoli and carrots along with onions and garlic to chicken broth, instead of water. I'm a garlic lover, so I used garlic in both the broth and the roasted cauliflower. Once everything was cooked, I saved about 1/3 of the veggies, pureed the rest, chopped the saved veggies and added it to the puree. Tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This soup does come out a little bland and there is far more olive oil than needed. I put the cauliflower in a bowl with garlic cloves, sprayed it and added salt, pepper and some curry powder before roasting. Then instead of frying onions in oil, I boiled onions, celery and a carrot in vegetable broth. After that was mainly cooked, I added the roasted cauliflower to the broth for about 10 more minutes to make sure that it was well cooked for blending. Added a wee bit of cheddar to each bowl when serving. Yummy. It doesn't hurt to boil veggies in water, if you are going to eat the water too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I wanted a recipe for my 8 month old son who is not a fan of the single vegetable puree's anymore. This was perfect! I cut the recipe in half, added a yellow bell pepper as some of the other comments suggested and added a dash of curry powder. My son loved it and I liked it too. It freezes well for easy meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I added 2 slices of bacon when frying onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franny999

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This was delicious! I didn't use the olive oil and it was still excellent. Adding curry powder, celery salt and using chicken broth instead of water worked magic. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
The soup gets two stars for fast and easy prep as well as its healthiness. I thought it was very bland and my husband complained that it was slightly bitter. I also found the texture to be almost a little greasy feeling on my tongue. I am sure with a few changes it would be tasty, but I don't have that time. We won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Even with the flavorful substitution of seasoned homemade chicken stock instead of water, I found this soup to lacking in flavor. Another reviewer mentioned adding curry and that might have just been the ticket to a tastier soup. I love roasted cauliflower and thought that roasting the cauliflower would bring out a tantalizing nutty flavor. I did not use olive oil cooking spray but sprayed the cauliflower with pure olive oil before roasting. Being of the “more is better” school of thought when it comes to garlic, I used more than four cloves. I roasted them whole with the cauliflower and perhaps sautéing them with the onion as the recipe directed instead of roasting would have boosted the flavor. The soup was best the day after it was made and gets an extra star for being healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LisaD
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This is a great recipe as-is. As originally created it is wonderful but a little bland for my taste, so I did modify the recipe a little to my likes, I added 1 yellow bell pepper, I used white pepper vs black pepper for appearance purposes and I like the taste better of white pepper. I also added some curry powder and celery salt. Instead of using chicken stock I used the water and added chicken granules for the basic same effect. I also added some fried tofu garnishes as well. This put the soup over the top in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States