Roasted Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
One of the best recipes I have ever made from this site! This was a huge success at our dinner party last night. I used Gorgonzola (husband doesn't like blue cheese). Doubled the garlic because we are big fans and used spring mix for Arugula because the market was out of just Arugula. Thanks Morgan for sharing my favorite new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I made this with the ingredients listed. Instead of putting the nuts, carrots and oil in the oven, I lightly greased a sheet and did just the carrots. I whisked the oil with the vinegar, honey, garlic and S&P. I added the cooled carrots with the nuts and fruit and then tossed it, adding the lettace at serving time. This is different flavor with a pretty presentation. I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
If I could give this 7 stars I would. This is so over the top yummy! Just from reading the recipe I knew it would be good so I made a huge batch for a potluck. It evaporated it was gone so fast. Only thing I did different is since I tripled the recipe, I only doubled the garlic. But still soooooooo yummy. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souix Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is delicious as a sidedish, more so than a salad. I made EXACTLY as the recipe stated (for all you purists out there!), and I will make it again, but next time there are several minor things I'd do differently. #1 - I'd cut back on the oil, or perhaps omit the oil & spray the carrots with a spritz or two of Pam cooking spray before roasting (they get a little soggy with all that oil). #2 - increase the slivered almonds and the dried cranberries -- at least 1/2 cup of cranberries (which I soaked in hot water for a few minutes & then drained, to soften them). #3 - Decrease the blue cheese crumbles -- the flavor was a little over-powering! #4. Omit the argula or substitute baby spinach leaves. We ate it mixed with the greens at first, but then decided we liked it better as just a carrot/cranberry/almond sidedish, served at room temperature. Thanks for the recipe Morgan Nowicki. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is a very delicious salad with a wonderful unique flavor, however I feel the blue cheese is much too strong and sharp for the delicateness of this salad. Next time I would use feta or goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Absolutely fabulous salad! The carrots are just the right balance of sweet and savory. The addition of blue cheese and cranberries makes it even more perfect, and the almonds give the perfect crunch. The carrots also make a great side dish by themselves without the greens and cranberries. I can't rave enough about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaxson13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I love this recipe! I have to say it kind of annoys me when people review after completely changing the original recipe ... that said, I did make one addition. Because I have a huge amount of beets in the garden, I added small diced beets to the roasting pan with the diagonally sliced carrots, etc. It was actually a good combination, and a nice color addition as well. I'll def make this salad again! In the future I'll double or even triple it ... so good the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Delicious! This would be great served with Christmas dinner as the dried cranberries remind me of that time of the year. Only changes were the use of regular lettuce and baby carrots simply because I had them on hand. The sweet from the carrots, tart from the dried cranberries and tang from the blue cheese blend well together, no need for a vinaigrette of any sort. Simple and full of flavour! We'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
So delicious. I did make some changes since I used what I already had in the house. Added roasted beets, used pecans instead of almonds, spinach instead of arugula, and goat cheese instead of blue cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review. I love this salad! Even my mother in law asked for the recipe and she is one tough nut to crack! It's so pretty and the unexpected combination is a mouthwatering combination. This is a new staple in my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States