Roasted Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I make this all the time! Great soup even without the cream. Not a fan of cinnamon or coriander so I leave it out. Sprinkle with some toasted pepitas. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I followed the basic recipe with a few modifications. I didn't have coriander or a cinnamon stick, but I added a 1/4 tsp of turmeric, a pinch of ginger powder, and a pinch of cinnamon. Also, I subbed the olive oil with coconut oil since it cooks better at high heats. My whole family loved this soup! Definitely a winner for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I made this today and it was so good! I skipped sauteing the squash (to save a step) and roasted whole x 1 hour at 400 degrees, cut in half and peeled easily. Used a few dashes of ground cinnamon since I didn't have cinnamon stick. After adding the broth to the sauteed onions, celery, and carrots I simmered x 30 minutes. This gave the broth a rich flavor. Used immersion blender and sprinkle of nutmeg to finished soup. This will definitely be served again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I love this soup, the only thing I added was a 1/4 of a Granny Smith apple for a little sweetness. So yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I had leftover roasted butternut squash from Christmas and wanted to make a soup with it. This recipe was simple and delicious. I didn't have cinnamon sticks so I added about one teaspoon ground cinnamon. One reviewer said she added 2 tablespoons -- seemed a bit too much for my family. I doubled the amount of puréed squash to thicken up the soup. I added about a tablespoon of heavy whipping cream to my bowl and garnished with toasted pine nuts and garlic/cheese croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Flynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
It was hard for me to judge how many servings two large squash would make so I adjusted and had allot. No worries though, completed the whole soup for eight and froze the rest to complete forr future cold days. It was scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen Kelly
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This was perfect just the way it was laid out. Next soup ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I made this tonight for dinner and everyone went back for thirds! I did not have corriander, bread crumbs or pumpkin seeds. I used two tbsp of cinnamon. I also placed the mashed squash directly into the soup then blended it all together again. I used both sour cream and half and half... I wish it was a bit thicker but the taste is amazing! Surprisingly sweet but not sickeningly. Will make again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Recipe lacks flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I don't usually comment about recipes, but this one is so absolutely delicious that I have to tell you. I made the soup and wasn't going to have any at the moment but when I happened to taste it, it was all I could do to stop myself from eating it right there. This is a definite 5 star recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States