Roasted Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Tasty! For the sake of laziness, I just did the carrots and onion with the squash in the oven and then mashed it all with a potato masher, then put the whole mixture along with spices in my turkey broth to simmer for a bit, then into the blender. Saves a step. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyla
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I add a bit more celery, carrot and onion and rather than add a stick of cinnamon I add a dash at the end. I don't use the coriander since I don't have any, and I use sour cream instead of half and half. But let me tell you, everyone loves this soup, even made some for my neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is a great recipe! I followed the recipe with these modifications: 1/4 tsp of coriander, 1/2 plain yogurt and used a sprinkle of cinnamon. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Maybe it was the homegrown organic squash I used, or the homemade goose broth, but this was AMAZING. The squash never really browned in the oven even though I left it in there twice as long, and it's not as thick as the recipe says, but it is phenomenally delicious. The cinnamon really adds that extra zing to the sweet squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I loved this soup. I've been looking for a creamy squash based soup for the holidays and this is it. Sauteing then roasting the squash gives it a fabulous flavor - I almost didn't add the 1/2 & 1/2 and I didn't need to add any salt and pepper during step 2. I'm very excited to introduce this to my holiday table. Next time I think I'll opt for the more health conscious plain, low-fat yogurt. Finally, it was quick and easy and I usually have most of the ingredients in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I added a small turnip to the celery and carrot. Other than that I followed the recipe and served my family a beautiful winter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This soup is fabulous! I just became a huge fan of squash and now I am trying to learn to cook it in every way possible. After reading all the reviews I decide not to add any half and half, yogurt, or sour cream. The ground corriander and the cinnamon really give this soup a warm feeling. I did not add the pumpkin seeds or bread crumbs either. I had a salad and some homemade bread with mine and it is definitely a keeper. This recipe definitely only serves 4. The next time I will double the batch. I just rewarmed my soup for lunch and it is even better today!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Excellent!! Added a little sprinkle of cinnamon and ginger to the soup just before serving. Everyone LOVED it! Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Thank you for this amazing recipe and very easy to follow instructions. For those who don't have pumpkin seeds on hand, it is very easy to toast the butternut squash seeds and use those in place of pumpkin seeds. Separate the seeds from the stringy mass, then boil in 2 cups water with 1 tbsp salt for every 1/2 cup of seeds for about 10 minutes. Use more salt if you like saltier seeds. Toss them in a little olive oil and bake in a single layer in 400 degree oven for about 10 minutes. They will keep for days on your counter if closed tightly in a container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was a GREAT starter. I did not add anything, but i did omit the half & half. This turned out very sweet, almost too sweet. Had to dunk some sourdough french bread every other bite. But it was so yummy and filling i still gave it four stars. Just can't eat alot of it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States