Roasted Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I added a small turnip to the celery and carrot. Other than that I followed the recipe and served my family a beautiful winter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is a great recipe! I followed the recipe with these modifications: 1/4 tsp of coriander, 1/2 plain yogurt and used a sprinkle of cinnamon. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I loved this soup. I've been looking for a creamy squash based soup for the holidays and this is it. Sauteing then roasting the squash gives it a fabulous flavor - I almost didn't add the 1/2 & 1/2 and I didn't need to add any salt and pepper during step 2. I'm very excited to introduce this to my holiday table. Next time I think I'll opt for the more health conscious plain, low-fat yogurt. Finally, it was quick and easy and I usually have most of the ingredients in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I add a bit more celery, carrot and onion and rather than add a stick of cinnamon I add a dash at the end. I don't use the coriander since I don't have any, and I use sour cream instead of half and half. But let me tell you, everyone loves this soup, even made some for my neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Yum! I do a plain yogurt instead of half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Excellent!! Added a little sprinkle of cinnamon and ginger to the soup just before serving. Everyone LOVED it! Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Maybe it was the homegrown organic squash I used, or the homemade goose broth, but this was AMAZING. The squash never really browned in the oven even though I left it in there twice as long, and it's not as thick as the recipe says, but it is phenomenally delicious. The cinnamon really adds that extra zing to the sweet squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
It is sooooo delicious! I didnt even use the 1/2 & 1/2, or any yougurt and it was devine and super low cal then i would suspect! DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This soup is fabulous! I just became a huge fan of squash and now I am trying to learn to cook it in every way possible. After reading all the reviews I decide not to add any half and half, yogurt, or sour cream. The ground corriander and the cinnamon really give this soup a warm feeling. I did not add the pumpkin seeds or bread crumbs either. I had a salad and some homemade bread with mine and it is definitely a keeper. This recipe definitely only serves 4. The next time I will double the batch. I just rewarmed my soup for lunch and it is even better today!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Tasty! For the sake of laziness, I just did the carrots and onion with the squash in the oven and then mashed it all with a potato masher, then put the whole mixture along with spices in my turkey broth to simmer for a bit, then into the blender. Saves a step. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyla

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States