Roasted Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This soup was terrific! I'm not a huge fan of squash but my last CSA box had tons of it so I needed to figure out somethign to do with it all. I found this recipe and gave it a whirl. WOW! although the prep was a bit tedious (sorry, I'm not a huge cook and found this definitely took more than an hour in the kitchen) but was sooo worth it. I made only a few small subs due to what I had on hand - so I didn't use the breadcrumbs and garnished with roasted sunflower seeds instead - but the rest of the recipe I followed to a "t". It turned out awesome and I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Short cut: poke holes in your squash with a knife, microwave for 6 minutes, then peel, scoop out insides, cube and mix with baby carrots and a cut up onion inside a zip lock bag that you added olive oil, sea salt and pepper to. Dump out onto a foil lined cookie sheet and broil until soft and slightly browned. Then pureed in food processor and followed the rest of the steps, except I didn't add any celery, but added about 5 oz. of cream cheese instead of the 1/2 and 1/2. Fabulous aroma, great taste texture. Sooooo good on a rainy day with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
OMGOSH!!! Our Fave!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I liked the tip of sauteing the squash, onion, celery, and carrots together. That's what I did and it turned out great. I used about half of a large amber cup squash. I'd say it was closer to 4 cups altogether. I also used a whole sweet onion and I had to use boullion because I ran out of broth. I put in a few dashes of "salt exotica" which is basically coriander, ginger, turmeric and garlic. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Lewiston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is such a great recipe. I used ground cinnamon instead of a stick. Vegetable broth, no pumpkin seeds or bread crumbs. I added half of a honeycrisp apple sliced thin in the saute onion/celery/carrot and it was fantastic! I'm going to add just a touch of coconut milk as soon as I get it from the store; although it's great without it. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Amazing! Only mashed/did not puree- and served it over a spoonfull of rice. Also- did not have cream so I sprinkled some crumbled goat cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very good! Used ground cinnamon, left out the pumpkin seeds, coriander, and half and half. Added nutmeg too. Served with salad and whole wheat rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
So good. All my friends and family members loved this soup, and are always surprised when I say the main ingredient! I use nonfat greek yogurt instead of half-and-half. I've been told that this dish almost tastes like a curry and could go great on top of rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
The texture of this soup was great, but I thought the flavor was lacking something - and I LOVE squash soups! My husband agreed. If I make this again, I will probably use 2 cinnamon sticks, more squash and add some brown sugar. But, it seems I'm in the minority here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieEater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Very simple and delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aaron1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States