Roasted Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I made this today and it was so good! I skipped sauteing the squash (to save a step) and roasted whole x 1 hour at 400 degrees, cut in half and peeled easily. Used a few dashes of ground cinnamon since I didn't have cinnamon stick. After adding the broth to the sauteed onions, celery, and carrots I simmered x 30 minutes. This gave the broth a rich flavor. Used immersion blender and sprinkle of nutmeg to finished soup. This will definitely be served again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I love this soup, the only thing I added was a 1/4 of a Granny Smith apple for a little sweetness. So yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I had leftover roasted butternut squash from Christmas and wanted to make a soup with it. This recipe was simple and delicious. I didn't have cinnamon sticks so I added about one teaspoon ground cinnamon. One reviewer said she added 2 tablespoons -- seemed a bit too much for my family. I doubled the amount of puréed squash to thicken up the soup. I added about a tablespoon of heavy whipping cream to my bowl and garnished with toasted pine nuts and garlic/cheese croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Flynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
It was hard for me to judge how many servings two large squash would make so I adjusted and had allot. No worries though, completed the whole soup for eight and froze the rest to complete forr future cold days. It was scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen Kelly
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I made this tonight for dinner and everyone went back for thirds! I did not have corriander, bread crumbs or pumpkin seeds. I used two tbsp of cinnamon. I also placed the mashed squash directly into the soup then blended it all together again. I used both sour cream and half and half... I wish it was a bit thicker but the taste is amazing! Surprisingly sweet but not sickeningly. Will make again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Recipe lacks flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I don't usually comment about recipes, but this one is so absolutely delicious that I have to tell you. I made the soup and wasn't going to have any at the moment but when I happened to taste it, it was all I could do to stop myself from eating it right there. This is a definite 5 star recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Excellent. I also added the carrots to the squash in the oven. Did add additional milk at the end to thin it a bit. But, terrific overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Delicious!! Got rave reviews from hubby and neighbors! A keeper! Added abt 1/4 cup whipping cream a few minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenhurst, Georgia, USA
Living In: Colfax, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States