Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with Apples and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This soup is a little labor-intensive, but completely worth the time and effort. I didn't follow the directions exactly. I blended the bacon in with the vegetables, rather than using it just for the drippings and as a garnish. I added a little olive oil to the pan when sauteeing the celery and carrot. My partner can't eat onions so I omitted that and I don't miss it. I added nutmeg to the mix rather than as a garnish. I didn't strictly follow the timing of cooking the celery, apples, garlic, etc. because I was going to boil it down over several hours. This thick, creamy, comforting soup has a bouquet of flavors. The squash, then the bacon, then the apple, then the curry and spices and celery and carrot and garlic bloom on your tongue. Marvelous and complex. This soup could sell for $8/bowl in a snazzy restaurant. It's amazing! I'm serving it tonight with a garlic/cheddar/mozzarella/parmesan bread and pomegranate juice and some vanilla yogurt drizzled with melted seedless blackberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This was actually quite excellent and well worth the effort. This has a rich blend of flavors that will catch peoples' attention, yet is also somehow simple enough that my kids went back for seconds and thirds - something that almost never happens. A few notes: (1) I did not have apple cider onhand so used 3 cups of unsweetened applesauce with a touch of cinnamon instead and it came out great (I'll be curious to see if it's better/worse with cider next time); (2) I doubled the curry and still barely noticed it so would recommend others do the same; (3) if you use microwave steam bags for the squash you can avoid using the oven and can get it cooked in 6 minutes, shaving some time off the overall prep time; and (4) definitely blend this... we're a family that likes chunky soups and I read the review suggesting to leave it chunky (I used a potato masher instead of blender) and the result was everyone in the family opting to stick theirs in the blender. This does not make a great chunky soup in my opinion, but is restaurant-quality as a blended soup. This was truly excellent and the best thing we've made out of over 20 top-rated recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
this soup is full of bold, delicious flavors. My boyfriend and I both enjoyed it a lot. I used just one quart of chicken broth instead of 1 and a half. I tripled the curry powder as another reviewer suggested. Oh, and I poured most of the bacon fat out of the pot before adding the onions and other veggies. The fat from 8 slices of bacon was just too much in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I made exactly as the recipe stated. Way too vinegary for my family. Other than that I think it has the potential to be a good soup. If I ever made again I would considerably cut the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This soup is excellent the way it is written, don't understand why anyone would make all the changes to it and then give it a 4+ rating. You really need to roast the squash in the oven to give this soup its full flavor. Bacon + sour cream finish are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I think they need to increase the prep time.. it is very time consuming to make .. but the results are worth it. I made it exactly as listed, and it was awesome. I recommend making a double batch, then for all your efforts, you'll have some to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I've made this once a week since I found this recipe. We love it! It does take time to make. I also make my own chicken broth and leave all the meat in the soup from the chicken, so that take even more time but makes it a meal with meat. And it is SO worth the effort! What I also do different is, I use leeks instead of celery, I use 3 apples instead of one and never puree it up, we love it chucky with the chicken and all the veggies and the sweet chunks of apple. Oh, its a favorite my kids will consider a comfort food mom made growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thomasandchristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is a delicious soup, perfect to enjoy on a cool fall day. The only things I did differently was add two apples, a little less carrots and celery and used 3 tablespoons of curry powder. I used two medium size butternut squashes, which I cut in half and roasted and then scooped into the soup. The blend of flavors is outstanding. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Very good soup. I added chicken and apple sausage to the blended soup and it was a great addition. I had to make several changes since I did not have all the ingredients on hand, but it still worked well. I had no celery or carrots, so I added more onions. I didn't have enough butternut squash, so I added some acorn squash. I had no apple cider, so I used white grape juice. All in all, a great recipe that you can adjust to what you have in the kitchen. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Excellant on a cold winter day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruthey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States