Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with Apples and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Wow. This is my first review after using scores of recipes off this site. I had to write as this is an excellent soup. I love buttercup squash anyway, and I'm a squash soup fan, but this recipe is remarkable. Thanks for sharing it. It does take some time to make, but everyone thought the flavor was wonderful...even the folks who don't care for curry. Followed the recipe except instead of apple cider I threw some homemade applesauce, apple cider vinegar and water together to replace the cider. Also used homemade chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe took so much time to make! It has a unique flavor that isn't bad, it is just not what my husband and I are used to. I can see why a lot of people liked it, but we ended up throwing it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was quite delicious. It was time consuming chopping all the veggies, but it was also quite easy to make. Next time I think I will add more squash and a little less of the carrots and celery, but that is just a personal preference. I think the bacon added a nice crunch and the sour cream added the perfect creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This soup is definitely a labor of love! It's good but IMO, not worth the time and effort. I didn't know when to add the squash (and for all the work, you don't even really taste the squash---there's a ton of flavors going on!). The curry definitely adds something. I will keep looking for a squash soup recipe. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
A wonderfully creamy, filling soup that was exploding with flavor. I will make this again next fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I think they need to increase the prep time.. it is very time consuming to make .. but the results are worth it. I made it exactly as listed, and it was awesome. I recommend making a double batch, then for all your efforts, you'll have some to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Yum. This was really tasty. But it wasn't the easiest thing to make! I prepped the day before making by cutting up all of my veggies/bacon/apples and roasting the squash and it still took a long time to make the next day. Made a ton though and we enjoyed it for days. Used apple juice instead of apple cider because that is what I had on hand. Garnished with extra crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Okay this recipe is not something to make when you need something in a hurry, but as others have stated it was definitely worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This was actually quite excellent and well worth the effort. This has a rich blend of flavors that will catch peoples' attention, yet is also somehow simple enough that my kids went back for seconds and thirds - something that almost never happens. A few notes: (1) I did not have apple cider onhand so used 3 cups of unsweetened applesauce with a touch of cinnamon instead and it came out great (I'll be curious to see if it's better/worse with cider next time); (2) I doubled the curry and still barely noticed it so would recommend others do the same; (3) if you use microwave steam bags for the squash you can avoid using the oven and can get it cooked in 6 minutes, shaving some time off the overall prep time; and (4) definitely blend this... we're a family that likes chunky soups and I read the review suggesting to leave it chunky (I used a potato masher instead of blender) and the result was everyone in the family opting to stick theirs in the blender. This does not make a great chunky soup in my opinion, but is restaurant-quality as a blended soup. This was truly excellent and the best thing we've made out of over 20 top-rated recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Very good soup. I added chicken and apple sausage to the blended soup and it was a great addition. I had to make several changes since I did not have all the ingredients on hand, but it still worked well. I had no celery or carrots, so I added more onions. I didn't have enough butternut squash, so I added some acorn squash. I had no apple cider, so I used white grape juice. All in all, a great recipe that you can adjust to what you have in the kitchen. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States