Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with Apples and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Very good. Nice and thick. Next time, I would substitute sausage for the bacon. Wonderful fall soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was very time consuming. I roasted the butternut squash on a pan with 1/4 c. water while I was doing the other preparations & just scooped it out when it was done & I was ready for it. It did have a very intense flavor, but somehow with all the seasonings, I didn't taste much squash. Actually I tasted more celery than squash. I also didn't puree it as my kiddos don't care for that texture. I opted to use my electric mixer to beat the soup on med-low while still in the pot just before serving. This way I could control the consistency & didn't have to juggle "batches" to and from my blender. All in all, it was a good soup, but a bit overwhelming if you (as I did) plan it as the main course. I will make it again, only next time I plan on cutting back the curry (I love it, but it drown out the other flavors... I couldn't taste the apple at all.), adding twice the bacon & a tiny bit of liquid smoke. I think that would be the perfect variation to make it more of a rounded hearty meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I made this soup as my first ever attempt at soup making. It was the best soup I've ever eaten. My family (not impartial, I know) said it was fancy restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
this soup is full of bold, delicious flavors. My boyfriend and I both enjoyed it a lot. I used just one quart of chicken broth instead of 1 and a half. I tripled the curry powder as another reviewer suggested. Oh, and I poured most of the bacon fat out of the pot before adding the onions and other veggies. The fat from 8 slices of bacon was just too much in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Amazing. I subbed celeriac for the celery and added a couple of radishes I had lying around, but other than that I followed the recipe. Worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
We have been searching for a long time to find a hearty butternut squash soup - most of the ones that we have tried are somewhat unfulfilling to us - but this one covers all the bases. I halved the amount of bacon called for to cut down on the fat, used no olive oil and tripled the amount of curry powder (sweet curry powder, not hot), but otherwise left the recipe alone. I wanted to immersion blend the whole pot, but the hubby wanted to leave it chunky, so we compromised and only partially blended it, leaving some chunks. It is pretty tasty this way and I think it would probably have the widest appeal this way. Great dish for fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
love this recipe! I halved the recipe and forgot to halve the apple cider (oops!) but we found that we actually enjoyed the extra sweetness. My fiance doesn't like curry, so I omitted it and didn't miss it. Full of flavor all on it's own. A definite winner, and perfect for a chilly autumn night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
In short - a complex soup not for everyone, better the next day. Mix the bacon bits into the soup to get the flavor mixed through. Try a drizzle of balsamic vinegar on top or cook it with vinegar. Personally, I don't like the soup without the vinegar and I don't think I like the apple cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Delicious, I made this recipe pretty much as it was stated. But I did change a few things. I didnt have any celery so I used a teaspoon of celery salt instead. I added 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper also I had 2 beats in the fridge so I put them in as well. Also at the end after I pureed the soup I added 1 cup of half and half. It came out wonderfully creamy. A dollop of sour cream in each serving sealed the deal on this recipe! I will be making this again and so should you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States