Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with Apples and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Delicious! I scaled it way down for just the two of us and i was very impressed. Excellent depth of flavor and fairly healthy, too! Didn't have apple cider so i used apple juice and a splash of white wine. The sour cream and bacon garnishes give this soup a "wow" factor, and a pinch of nutmeg rounds it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This soup is excellent the way it is written, don't understand why anyone would make all the changes to it and then give it a 4+ rating. You really need to roast the squash in the oven to give this soup its full flavor. Bacon + sour cream finish are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This. is. the. best. soup. EVER. Though I substituted apple cider for some apple butter that didn't turn out right. Cut back on the bacon, too. And omitted celery, since it's a useless vegetable. Just use more carrots, it's healthier that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I loved this soup, but the rest of my family did not. I'll call it lack of taste on their part! One thing--I used a hot curry, and for that spice, the amount is too much. My mistake. However, I loved the flavor of the end product, just wished it didn't have so much kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RICECHICKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
So good!!! Would not change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Delish! It was creamy and hearty and such wonderful flavor. I had no curry or celery in the house so I left those two things out. I also used Turkey Bacon instead of regular bacon, and since that created no "Drippings" I put some olive oil in the pan to cook the veggies. If I had to change one thing, I would put less Thyme. I like that spice, but a little goes a long way and it seemed to overpower it a bit. Otherwise, I'm putting it on rotation in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Very good. Nice and thick. Next time, I would substitute sausage for the bacon. Wonderful fall soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was very time consuming. I roasted the butternut squash on a pan with 1/4 c. water while I was doing the other preparations & just scooped it out when it was done & I was ready for it. It did have a very intense flavor, but somehow with all the seasonings, I didn't taste much squash. Actually I tasted more celery than squash. I also didn't puree it as my kiddos don't care for that texture. I opted to use my electric mixer to beat the soup on med-low while still in the pot just before serving. This way I could control the consistency & didn't have to juggle "batches" to and from my blender. All in all, it was a good soup, but a bit overwhelming if you (as I did) plan it as the main course. I will make it again, only next time I plan on cutting back the curry (I love it, but it drown out the other flavors... I couldn't taste the apple at all.), adding twice the bacon & a tiny bit of liquid smoke. I think that would be the perfect variation to make it more of a rounded hearty meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I made this soup as my first ever attempt at soup making. It was the best soup I've ever eaten. My family (not impartial, I know) said it was fancy restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
this soup is full of bold, delicious flavors. My boyfriend and I both enjoyed it a lot. I used just one quart of chicken broth instead of 1 and a half. I tripled the curry powder as another reviewer suggested. Oh, and I poured most of the bacon fat out of the pot before adding the onions and other veggies. The fat from 8 slices of bacon was just too much in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States