Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with Apples and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Oh. My. God. This soup is perfection in a bowl! I made it for a meeting at work (I"m a Hotel Manager) at got such rave reviews it was a little embarassing! I scaled the recipe to serve 18 so the only change I made was to increase the carrot & celery and added about 3 cups of apple cider. It is the best soup I've ever made! The bacon and sour cream finish this dish perfectly. I WILL be making this again...and again...and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Violet-Muir

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: East York, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Hubby and I loved this soup it was absolutely wonderful and so full of flavor. We didn't have the butternut squash but we did have 4 small pumpkins which we used instead. Hubby is not a curry fan but agreed to put some in so we only used half of what was called for. I also tossed two cinnamon sticks in the pot as it simmered. Thank you LEXINOLE29 for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rozi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Awesome! Left out the sour cream garnish, as we are not fans of sour cream. It was delicious...the bacon really made this soup so much better than other recipes, and added a heartiness to it, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NLANDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
The rich layers of flavors made it a favorite at our house. I made it exactly according to the recipe. It shows up on every Christmas Eve dinner menu. Really excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
my family and friends LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galt, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I didn't use the bacon, as I didn't have any, so I used a little olive oil and a little butter to saute the veggies. I would still only use the cooked and crumbled bacon for garnish rather than have all the bacon grease in the soup. I thought it was very good and will make it again as it was not difficult. I think the roasting (rather than microwaving) gave it a richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This recipe was made exactly as written. Simply said... Excellent Soup. I too can see this being served at a fine restaurant for $8+ per bowl. Some thoughts. If you don't have an immersion blender, buy one. For under 30 bucks, you can own the best stick blender there is (Cuisinart). Spending more won't get you better quality. Using a standard blender for this hot soup is both tedious and dangerous if your not on your game. Also you can have it all blended in the same Dutch Oven you've prepared it in. Also, I looked for frozen squash in three local supermarkets and couldn't find it. Had to settle for the fresh version and the extra work peeling and cutting the squash. This was so Yum Delicious!!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Photog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I made exactly as the recipe stated. Way too vinegary for my family. Other than that I think it has the potential to be a good soup. If I ever made again I would considerably cut the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is a delicious soup, perfect to enjoy on a cool fall day. The only things I did differently was add two apples, a little less carrots and celery and used 3 tablespoons of curry powder. I used two medium size butternut squashes, which I cut in half and roasted and then scooped into the soup. The blend of flavors is outstanding. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Awesome recipe, I use 1/2 cup of apple butter instead of the cider if I don't have it. That works great and also reduces cooking time. Pre-roasted then frozen butternut squash also makes it an easier dinner to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States