Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with Apples and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
My family LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
absolutely delicious!!!! will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
LOVED this recipe but with the following mods as I can't have celery or sour cream: Roasted the onion and added two sweet potatoes with the butternut squash(peeled and cubed) Cut down to 1 qt of chicken broth and added one can of full fat coconut milk Added about ¼ cup of brown sugar once soup is blended Added about 1 tsp of ground cayenne pepper to give it a bit more kick! Cut out the celery as I’m not supposed to have it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Oh. My. God. This soup is perfection in a bowl! I made it for a meeting at work (I"m a Hotel Manager) at got such rave reviews it was a little embarassing! I scaled the recipe to serve 18 so the only change I made was to increase the carrot & celery and added about 3 cups of apple cider. It is the best soup I've ever made! The bacon and sour cream finish this dish perfectly. I WILL be making this again...and again...and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Violet-Muir

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: East York, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Hubby and I loved this soup it was absolutely wonderful and so full of flavor. We didn't have the butternut squash but we did have 4 small pumpkins which we used instead. Hubby is not a curry fan but agreed to put some in so we only used half of what was called for. I also tossed two cinnamon sticks in the pot as it simmered. Thank you LEXINOLE29 for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rozi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Awesome! Left out the sour cream garnish, as we are not fans of sour cream. It was delicious...the bacon really made this soup so much better than other recipes, and added a heartiness to it, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NLANDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
The rich layers of flavors made it a favorite at our house. I made it exactly according to the recipe. It shows up on every Christmas Eve dinner menu. Really excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
my family and friends LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galt, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I didn't use the bacon, as I didn't have any, so I used a little olive oil and a little butter to saute the veggies. I would still only use the cooked and crumbled bacon for garnish rather than have all the bacon grease in the soup. I thought it was very good and will make it again as it was not difficult. I think the roasting (rather than microwaving) gave it a richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States