Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with Apples and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
As a recipe it looks great. I have not tried this soup but read the "most helpful critical revue" who said it was "too vinegary". There is NO vinegar in this recipe. Could they have misread the directions and used cider vinegar instead of apple cider?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amytee
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Fantastic recipe & taste! My other half is a meat-eater & had never tried butternut squash. He not only made this, he loved it, and so did I. We used all the ingredients mentioned, even nutmeg, and we declared this recipe a staple for our winter eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This soup has a ton of complexity. Very interesting and enjoyable combination of flavors. I roasted the squash in halves instead of dicing, which may have lost some of the caramelization sweetness, but it was still great. I tried with and without Greek yogurt (sub for sour cream), and I liked it better without the yogurt. Bacon was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katjanas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Had never tried making a squash soup at home but always enjoyed it at restaurants. This is a new favorite soup now! The preparation time is underestimated -- cutting, peeling and roasting the squash takes a while, so does preparing the other ingredients. Overall, a wonderful recipe with bold and rich flavors. Bonus: it even freezes well (before the garnish of sour cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Carter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This is very tasty, and I didn't use any bacon. It probably would have been better with it; I just didn't have any in the freezer. It is also very laborious. I may make a different recipe next time because of how long it took.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
We ate it, but did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
LOL!! Did I mess this up the first time. I do all my cooking on Sunday for the entire week. It's the only day I have time to invest in the kitchen - so I generally prepare several "food bases" that I can combine during the week for lunch and dinner. So.... apple cider does NOT equal apple cider vinegar. I had several timers going off at the same time - wasn't really paying attention to the soup and did I ROYALLY screw up. Fortunately 40 years of cooking and intuition told me to scale the vinegar WAY back - down to about 1/4 of a cup. It actually turned out great with the addition of a wee bit of red pepper flakes to balance it out. So.. gave it a second try - this time with apple cider - just as written and loved it! Perfect for a cold winter warm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Labor intensive, and too sweet. I also did not care for the strong vinegar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Washausen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New London, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
simply put...the best! my new favorite soup! definitely worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
No apple cider? Consider white wine. Have some turnips and parsnips hanging around the kitchen? Dice and cook with the carrots. If you have some left over beef broth in the refrigerator, then go ahead and add it along with the chicken broth. Forget the bacon grease, use olive oil to cook the vegetables. The apple and curry powder are important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States