Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with Apples and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This is very tasty, and I didn't use any bacon. It probably would have been better with it; I just didn't have any in the freezer. It is also very laborious. I may make a different recipe next time because of how long it took.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
We ate it, but did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
LOL!! Did I mess this up the first time. I do all my cooking on Sunday for the entire week. It's the only day I have time to invest in the kitchen - so I generally prepare several "food bases" that I can combine during the week for lunch and dinner. So.... apple cider does NOT equal apple cider vinegar. I had several timers going off at the same time - wasn't really paying attention to the soup and did I ROYALLY screw up. Fortunately 40 years of cooking and intuition told me to scale the vinegar WAY back - down to about 1/4 of a cup. It actually turned out great with the addition of a wee bit of red pepper flakes to balance it out. So.. gave it a second try - this time with apple cider - just as written and loved it! Perfect for a cold winter warm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Labor intensive, and too sweet. I also did not care for the strong vinegar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New London, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
simply put...the best! my new favorite soup! definitely worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
No apple cider? Consider white wine. Have some turnips and parsnips hanging around the kitchen? Dice and cook with the carrots. If you have some left over beef broth in the refrigerator, then go ahead and add it along with the chicken broth. Forget the bacon grease, use olive oil to cook the vegetables. The apple and curry powder are important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Labor intensive. If you're looking for quick, this is not it. However, the flavor is all there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Used one celery stalk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I make butternut squash soup all the time - most of the time without a recipe - but I decided i had to try this and I am thrilled with the results. I did not have bacon - so I just skipped this step and instead sauteed everything in butter and olive oil. (i also didn't have celery) I also went heavy on the curry. We are skipping the sour cream when serving because it's so good - and so healthy - why ruin a good thing. I think if I had used the bacon the sour cream might be needed. We'll see because I'm making this again for sure! *Note - someone reviewed this and said it was too vinegary ....? Made no sense to me and then I realized they must have used apple cider vinegar instead of apple cider. Made correctly - it isn't vinegary at all. The apple really makes this extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Very easy to make and delicious! Family went crazy over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States