Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with Apples and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
simply put...the best! my new favorite soup! definitely worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
No apple cider? Consider white wine. Have some turnips and parsnips hanging around the kitchen? Dice and cook with the carrots. If you have some left over beef broth in the refrigerator, then go ahead and add it along with the chicken broth. Forget the bacon grease, use olive oil to cook the vegetables. The apple and curry powder are important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Labor intensive. If you're looking for quick, this is not it. However, the flavor is all there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Used one celery stalk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I make butternut squash soup all the time - most of the time without a recipe - but I decided i had to try this and I am thrilled with the results. I did not have bacon - so I just skipped this step and instead sauteed everything in butter and olive oil. (i also didn't have celery) I also went heavy on the curry. We are skipping the sour cream when serving because it's so good - and so healthy - why ruin a good thing. I think if I had used the bacon the sour cream might be needed. We'll see because I'm making this again for sure! *Note - someone reviewed this and said it was too vinegary ....? Made no sense to me and then I realized they must have used apple cider vinegar instead of apple cider. Made correctly - it isn't vinegary at all. The apple really makes this extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Very easy to make and delicious! Family went crazy over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I've made this recipe as written except I roast the carrots along with the squash. friends and family love it as a main meal or a starter for a dinner party. Tonight is the 4th time and it's just for the 2 of us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Pretty good; I used homemade stock though so I should've added salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
The flavors of this soup are similar to a muligatawny soup. The ingredients are pretty much the same minus the rice. I did make a few minor adjustments (half recipe): I omitted the bacon because I did not have any on hand, I used an entire onion, about 8 oz of carrots, 2 celery stalks, 4 cloves of garlic and 1 granny smith apple. Instead of chopping the veggies and fruit, I put it in the food processor. I'm not sure if the apple juice is necessary. The next time I make this soup, I will make it without the juice. I also used about 2 tsp. of curry and used about 2 cups of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This soup is absolutely delicious. I've made it twice pretty much exactly as the recipe describes. My only addition was walnuts as a extra garnish that I think provides some nice crunch and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States