Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with Apples and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
use a good cider (fresh) and toss the squash with cinnamon and cloves before baking. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I love this dish, I have made it several times and have modified it each time depending on my ingredients. I add much more curry and also a pinch of cayenne. I frequently leave out the bacon. I usually get my apples, cider and Squash from the farmers market and the quality and freshness really change the flavor. I have also garnished the soup with toasted coconut, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Wait

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookings, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I have made this a few times and it is my favorite soup recipe! One change I have made every time that seemed obvious to me was to roast the carrots as well as the squash (note: don't mix them together in a single roasting pan; the cooking time for the carrots is shorter). I also found 375 degrees a little low to get a good brown on the roasting vegetables, so I increased it to 400. I saw one reviewer who recommended doubling the curry powder. I thought the amount of curry powder was just right. Enough to add complexity, but not enough that the curry hits you over the head.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dulce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I am a big fan of butternut squash and am always looking for good recipies to use. This recipie is a definite keeper in our house. The cider and apples were an excellent paring. I used a sweet curry. And I find that cilantro added to anything with curry is an excellent garnish. The soup freezes well (I leave the sour cream and cilantro out until after it is reheated). Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skseymour

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This soup is perfect for cold days. It has just the right balance of sweetness and the curry powder gives it a subtle spiciness. I prefer it without the bacon and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpottedSparrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Aachen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Excellent soup, will make again. Added a leek, only had apple juice... which I think made the soup aliitle too sweet for me but my husband loved it. Next time I will try the apple cider. Was scared about the 2 tsps of curry but went for it and it was great. Instead of the sour cream ( didn't have any) I blended 3 tbsps cream cheese into soup. Very creamy without being over powering. I roasted the squash the night before which really cut down on the prep time for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I made a delicious vegan version of this soup. I may even make it for Thanksgiving, but in the future I will add a few cardamom pods and some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Wow. This is my first review after using scores of recipes off this site. I had to write as this is an excellent soup. I love buttercup squash anyway, and I'm a squash soup fan, but this recipe is remarkable. Thanks for sharing it. It does take some time to make, but everyone thought the flavor was wonderful...even the folks who don't care for curry. Followed the recipe except instead of apple cider I threw some homemade applesauce, apple cider vinegar and water together to replace the cider. Also used homemade chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe took so much time to make! It has a unique flavor that isn't bad, it is just not what my husband and I are used to. I can see why a lot of people liked it, but we ended up throwing it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States