Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with Apples and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I didn't use the bacon, as I didn't have any, so I used a little olive oil and a little butter to saute the veggies. I would still only use the cooked and crumbled bacon for garnish rather than have all the bacon grease in the soup. I thought it was very good and will make it again as it was not difficult. I think the roasting (rather than microwaving) gave it a richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This recipe was made exactly as written. Simply said... Excellent Soup. I too can see this being served at a fine restaurant for $8+ per bowl. Some thoughts. If you don't have an immersion blender, buy one. For under 30 bucks, you can own the best stick blender there is (Cuisinart). Spending more won't get you better quality. Using a standard blender for this hot soup is both tedious and dangerous if your not on your game. Also you can have it all blended in the same Dutch Oven you've prepared it in. Also, I looked for frozen squash in three local supermarkets and couldn't find it. Had to settle for the fresh version and the extra work peeling and cutting the squash. This was so Yum Delicious!!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Photog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I made exactly as the recipe stated. Way too vinegary for my family. Other than that I think it has the potential to be a good soup. If I ever made again I would considerably cut the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is a delicious soup, perfect to enjoy on a cool fall day. The only things I did differently was add two apples, a little less carrots and celery and used 3 tablespoons of curry powder. I used two medium size butternut squashes, which I cut in half and roasted and then scooped into the soup. The blend of flavors is outstanding. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Awesome recipe, I use 1/2 cup of apple butter instead of the cider if I don't have it. That works great and also reduces cooking time. Pre-roasted then frozen butternut squash also makes it an easier dinner to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Delicious! I scaled it way down for just the two of us and i was very impressed. Excellent depth of flavor and fairly healthy, too! Didn't have apple cider so i used apple juice and a splash of white wine. The sour cream and bacon garnishes give this soup a "wow" factor, and a pinch of nutmeg rounds it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This soup is excellent the way it is written, don't understand why anyone would make all the changes to it and then give it a 4+ rating. You really need to roast the squash in the oven to give this soup its full flavor. Bacon + sour cream finish are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This. is. the. best. soup. EVER. Though I substituted apple cider for some apple butter that didn't turn out right. Cut back on the bacon, too. And omitted celery, since it's a useless vegetable. Just use more carrots, it's healthier that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I loved this soup, but the rest of my family did not. I'll call it lack of taste on their part! One thing--I used a hot curry, and for that spice, the amount is too much. My mistake. However, I loved the flavor of the end product, just wished it didn't have so much kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RICECHICKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
So good!!! Would not change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States