Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with Apples and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
So good!!! Would not change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Delish! It was creamy and hearty and such wonderful flavor. I had no curry or celery in the house so I left those two things out. I also used Turkey Bacon instead of regular bacon, and since that created no "Drippings" I put some olive oil in the pan to cook the veggies. If I had to change one thing, I would put less Thyme. I like that spice, but a little goes a long way and it seemed to overpower it a bit. Otherwise, I'm putting it on rotation in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Very good. Nice and thick. Next time, I would substitute sausage for the bacon. Wonderful fall soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was very time consuming. I roasted the butternut squash on a pan with 1/4 c. water while I was doing the other preparations & just scooped it out when it was done & I was ready for it. It did have a very intense flavor, but somehow with all the seasonings, I didn't taste much squash. Actually I tasted more celery than squash. I also didn't puree it as my kiddos don't care for that texture. I opted to use my electric mixer to beat the soup on med-low while still in the pot just before serving. This way I could control the consistency & didn't have to juggle "batches" to and from my blender. All in all, it was a good soup, but a bit overwhelming if you (as I did) plan it as the main course. I will make it again, only next time I plan on cutting back the curry (I love it, but it drown out the other flavors... I couldn't taste the apple at all.), adding twice the bacon & a tiny bit of liquid smoke. I think that would be the perfect variation to make it more of a rounded hearty meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I made this soup as my first ever attempt at soup making. It was the best soup I've ever eaten. My family (not impartial, I know) said it was fancy restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
this soup is full of bold, delicious flavors. My boyfriend and I both enjoyed it a lot. I used just one quart of chicken broth instead of 1 and a half. I tripled the curry powder as another reviewer suggested. Oh, and I poured most of the bacon fat out of the pot before adding the onions and other veggies. The fat from 8 slices of bacon was just too much in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Amazing. I subbed celeriac for the celery and added a couple of radishes I had lying around, but other than that I followed the recipe. Worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
We have been searching for a long time to find a hearty butternut squash soup - most of the ones that we have tried are somewhat unfulfilling to us - but this one covers all the bases. I halved the amount of bacon called for to cut down on the fat, used no olive oil and tripled the amount of curry powder (sweet curry powder, not hot), but otherwise left the recipe alone. I wanted to immersion blend the whole pot, but the hubby wanted to leave it chunky, so we compromised and only partially blended it, leaving some chunks. It is pretty tasty this way and I think it would probably have the widest appeal this way. Great dish for fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
love this recipe! I halved the recipe and forgot to halve the apple cider (oops!) but we found that we actually enjoyed the extra sweetness. My fiance doesn't like curry, so I omitted it and didn't miss it. Full of flavor all on it's own. A definite winner, and perfect for a chilly autumn night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States