Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with Apples and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Labor intensive. If you're looking for quick, this is not it. However, the flavor is all there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Used one celery stalk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I make butternut squash soup all the time - most of the time without a recipe - but I decided i had to try this and I am thrilled with the results. I did not have bacon - so I just skipped this step and instead sauteed everything in butter and olive oil. (i also didn't have celery) I also went heavy on the curry. We are skipping the sour cream when serving because it's so good - and so healthy - why ruin a good thing. I think if I had used the bacon the sour cream might be needed. We'll see because I'm making this again for sure! *Note - someone reviewed this and said it was too vinegary ....? Made no sense to me and then I realized they must have used apple cider vinegar instead of apple cider. Made correctly - it isn't vinegary at all. The apple really makes this extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Very easy to make and delicious! Family went crazy over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I've made this recipe as written except I roast the carrots along with the squash. friends and family love it as a main meal or a starter for a dinner party. Tonight is the 4th time and it's just for the 2 of us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Pretty good; I used homemade stock though so I should've added salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
The flavors of this soup are similar to a muligatawny soup. The ingredients are pretty much the same minus the rice. I did make a few minor adjustments (half recipe): I omitted the bacon because I did not have any on hand, I used an entire onion, about 8 oz of carrots, 2 celery stalks, 4 cloves of garlic and 1 granny smith apple. Instead of chopping the veggies and fruit, I put it in the food processor. I'm not sure if the apple juice is necessary. The next time I make this soup, I will make it without the juice. I also used about 2 tsp. of curry and used about 2 cups of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This soup is absolutely delicious. I've made it twice pretty much exactly as the recipe describes. My only addition was walnuts as a extra garnish that I think provides some nice crunch and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I just made this tonight, and it was fantastic. But the prep time is definitely longer--the squash took 45 minutes to really be soft, and the carrots took longer as well. Still, it's worth the considerable work that goes into it. I served it with a loaf of pumpernickel bread, which goes very nicely with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
this is a great soup and very similar to the way I have made it in the past but instead of putting it in the blender in batches I just puree it in the pot with my braun hand blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States