Roasted Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
EXCELLENT! I would have never in my entire life thought that I'd EVER eat a brussels sprout. They're cute to look at, but OMG the stench of cruciferous veggies cooking just makes me gag. Plus I'm not into "mushy middles" (I think reviewers called it "creamy"). But I did want to try this recipe due to all the rave reviews. And now, I want to THANK the person who posted this fabulous recipe! My husband and I LOVED every morsel! I did do 2 changes: 1- we halved them, so that we wouldn't get "mushy middles", lol. And, I read somewhere that if you remove the "choke" that's at the bottom of the sprout (inside), the brussel sprout will not be bitter. Voila! it worked! These yummmy, salty, nutty, crunchy, carmelized brussel sprouts were SO good. No bitterness whatsoever! The super dark carmelized parts of the roasted bsprouts were the best! LUVVVVV this recipe, and will make over and over again! HUGE thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1605 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
WOW! My kids HATE brussel sprouts. We've tried everything, but, they hate them. I added 2 cloves of crushed garlic, and when they were done, I went to the store and bought another two pounds and made it againg. AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Yum! This is my favorite way to make brussels sprouts. I first had them prepared this way at a restaurant in downtown NYC around the corner from where I lived--absolutely addictive, and when I moved from that neighborhood I came up with my own version similar to this recipe. The only difference is that I sprinkle a few cloves of minced garlic on top as the sprouts roast, which is delicious--the roasted garlic is sweet and compliments the sprouts without overpowering them. Also, I usually parboil the sprouts first (for 2 minutes). This draws out bitterness, and cuts down on roasting time (25 minutes to nicely blackened).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1013 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I make roasted sprouts frequently, however there is NO WAY this recipe could possibly yield anything other than over cooked sprouts!!!! Try roasting at 425 for FIFTEEN MINUTES!!! You'll love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
591 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I thought these were mediocre...just edible, and certainly not memorable or great. I did not care for the "mushy" or "creamy" interior others found so appealing, nor the overroasted exterior. Also, I don't know how you could roast these as long as the recipe indicates without making them little burnt charcoal briquettes...15-20 minutes was more like it. I found the look of them unappealing too--much prefer the bright color of simply steamed or sauteed brussels sprouts. Hubby liked them better than I did, tho' he might have just wanted to be nice. (After all, he did leave most of them on his plate) Final word: Always read the lowest rated reviews as well as the highest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
368 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Delicious. We have this once a week. I don't cook it for the full 30 minutes--just long enough for the outer leaves to turn brown/crispy, about 15 minutes. So easy, so delicious. Sometimes I sprinkle balsamic vinegar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I've tried braising; I've tried boiling; I've tried sauteing. Roasting, I know now, is by far the best. I left it in longer than I felt comfortable as I watched some brussels sprouts turn dark brown and a few turned black. I'm glad I did, as the darker ones turned out better, with a complex outside and a soft, melty interior. (The lighter ones didn't have as good insides.) A nice combination of sweet and salty, and an easy recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
These were delicious. I cut them into quarters because I wanted small bites. The cooking time was shortened to about 30 minutes because of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I was really really surprise about these, I love brussel sprouts and needed a new way to try them. This was the BOMB!!!!. I followed the recipe with the exception of cook time and temp. Make sure you used the kosher salt no other, I could tell it would make a difference, also I cooked mine on 375 degrees and for 30 mins until they were dark brown not black, they also reheat very well. Give this one a try. Update!!!! I'm hitting the store tonight for fresh brussels sprouts, This recipe is really ADDICTIVED!!!!. I cook these all the time, this time I decided to use the garlic as others have stated as I really love garlic. Let me say they were still good, but I think much better just following the recipe as stated. I still can't get enough!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This is really, really wonderful. I made these for Thanksgiving and everyone loved them. I will make this again and again -- and not just for the holidays! They really do reheat well, so don't be afraid to prepare them ahead and time and then just reheat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,914) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make a simple, healthy veggie side dish.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States