Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Apples, Golden Raisins, and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
We thought this was absolutely delicious. Just kept eating it till it was all gone. It was a great combination of flavors. Didn't add the wine at the end... not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This was a fabulously healthy vegetable dish! I did do a couple of things different though. I bought honeycrisp apples and I cored and diced them, but left the healthy skin on. This added nutrients and color! I also omitted the salt and pepper and added 1 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar to the olive oil. I let them roast for 30 minutes as I like them browned a little bit. And when I added the raisins and walnuts I also added about 1/2 oz of crumbled feta cheese for just a slight zip. I then divided it into individual serving dishes to pack for my lunches. This will be a staple in my diet for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I love this, I have had it more than once. I make it on the stovetop in a wok. I use garlic with the EVOO and in place of the wine I use Pomegranate juice. I also throw in some sweet and sour cabbage. In place of the walnuts I use cashews. Serve it over rice. I could sit and eat till it's gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara1997

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Holy cow! This was SO DELICIOUS! I absolutely loved it. I try very hard to do recipes the first time the way they are presented. The only glitch here was I only had regular raisins. Otherwise - with my fresh from the garden brussel sprouts - this recipe was made the way they posted it and was couldn't-stop-eating-it perfect!! THANK YOU SO MUCH! NEW FAVORITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was great. Didn't change a thing although I do think one of the recommendations about adding a little fresh ginger would work well. We could have eaten this as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
My wife and I really loved this recipe and will definitely do it again. I used dry cranberries we had on hand rather than raisins. Rather than drizzle oil on, I prefer to add the oil and seasoning in a bowl and mix everything. Everything else was pretty much as instructed. I didn't like brussels sprouts when I was young. The ones my mother served were always frozen ones that were then boiled. Now my wife and I always start with fresh ones and roast them. They are so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
so i did modify it a little because i didn't have any white wine. I used a balsamic vinegar reduction in it's place and it was MARVELOUS. I also added the walnuts with about 15 minutes to go to make them crunchy. Superb! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by running mommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This was a great recipe and I don't like Brussel sprouts! I altered it just a bit to suit my taste. I tossed the veggies in bacon grease and olive oil before baking. Near the end of cooking I added the apples as suggested by another reviewer and crumbled bacon. What doesn't taste good with bacon? Topped with pecans, forgot the raisins, and didn't have the wine. Turned out pretty good, but I bet the raisins and wine would have been tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Wow, this was delicious and healthy. I have been looking for a new side dish for Thanksgiving dinner that was low in carbs. There seems to be so few, but this one fit the bill. The blend of vegetables, fruit, and nuts was different but worked really well together. I mixed everything in a bowl to distribute the olive oil more evenly. I was pretty liberal on the oil, salt, pepper, and walnuts. I used dried cranberries instead of raisins just because I had so many. Did not add wine. Feta cheese at the end as suggested by Sandy sounds delicious and I will try that next time to attract more fans of a Brussels Sprouts dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I made this for Christmas dinner and everyone loved it. Since I was serving both Roast Beef and Turkey Breast (for the non-meat eaters) this was the perfect combination of vegetables. I was serving 10 adults so i adjused the recipe accordinly and used golden raisins and dried cranberries which added some much needed color. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make a simple, healthy veggie side dish.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States