Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Apples, Golden Raisins, and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I thought this was a good recipe. The raisins and apples added some nice sweetness to the brussel sprouts. I left out the cauliflower, because I didn't have any, and I'm not a fan. I didn't used to like brussel sprouts either, but recipes like this one are helping me make them more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I didn't have wine, so I substituted a little Balsamic vinegar. Roasted a little longer than stated time. Very creative dish, as well as nutritious. Family raved and asked me to please make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Interesting combo that turned out totally yummy! Even the young teenager liked it! Pair it up with some high quality brown rice and the "Zippy Summer Shrimp" (here on AllRecipes.com) and you'll look like an amazing cook -- and... Oh So Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was great. Didn't change a thing although I do think one of the recommendations about adding a little fresh ginger would work well. We could have eaten this as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I made this for Christmas dinner and everyone loved it. Since I was serving both Roast Beef and Turkey Breast (for the non-meat eaters) this was the perfect combination of vegetables. I was serving 10 adults so i adjused the recipe accordinly and used golden raisins and dried cranberries which added some much needed color. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
very good. add raw walnuts 15 minutes before end of roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Wow, this was delicious and healthy. I have been looking for a new side dish for Thanksgiving dinner that was low in carbs. There seems to be so few, but this one fit the bill. The blend of vegetables, fruit, and nuts was different but worked really well together. I mixed everything in a bowl to distribute the olive oil more evenly. I was pretty liberal on the oil, salt, pepper, and walnuts. I used dried cranberries instead of raisins just because I had so many. Did not add wine. Feta cheese at the end as suggested by Sandy sounds delicious and I will try that next time to attract more fans of a Brussels Sprouts dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This was a great recipe and I don't like Brussel sprouts! I altered it just a bit to suit my taste. I tossed the veggies in bacon grease and olive oil before baking. Near the end of cooking I added the apples as suggested by another reviewer and crumbled bacon. What doesn't taste good with bacon? Topped with pecans, forgot the raisins, and didn't have the wine. Turned out pretty good, but I bet the raisins and wine would have been tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Holy cow! This was SO DELICIOUS! I absolutely loved it. I try very hard to do recipes the first time the way they are presented. The only glitch here was I only had regular raisins. Otherwise - with my fresh from the garden brussel sprouts - this recipe was made the way they posted it and was couldn't-stop-eating-it perfect!! THANK YOU SO MUCH! NEW FAVORITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
My wife and I really loved this recipe and will definitely do it again. I used dry cranberries we had on hand rather than raisins. Rather than drizzle oil on, I prefer to add the oil and seasoning in a bowl and mix everything. Everything else was pretty much as instructed. I didn't like brussels sprouts when I was young. The ones my mother served were always frozen ones that were then boiled. Now my wife and I always start with fresh ones and roast them. They are so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make a simple, healthy veggie side dish.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States