Roasted Broccoli & Crispy Polenta with Roasted Pepper & Asiago Chicken Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was okay....while each was just fine and tasty...to me could have used something to combine the components together, a sauce or something. As is...it was so so. Even if it's a rather healthy dish, needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
In order to save a little on time and the extra calories I steamed the broccoli instead of roasting. The lemon juice really enhanced the flavor of the broccoli. I also used sun-dried tomato polenta and it was a nice compliment to the chicken sausage. I love the crispy outside and creamy inside you get from grilling or fying polenta. To be so simple to put together - this dish really had a lot of flavor. I do think it needed some sort of sauce. Next time I would experiment with a roasted red pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This is an awesome option for a quick weeknight dinner! I actually made my own polenta (it was my first time - I usually stick to grits) so that part doesn't fit into the "quick" equation, but I think if I make it again I'm gonna skip the polenta, make grits, and save myself the step of having the fry the polenta. I added cheese to my polenta (how many times can I write "polenta" in this review? Let's find out!) so I didn't add any on top. Otherwise, I pretty much followed the recipe. I really liked the sausage with the polenta (there it is again!) because it was kind of like breakfast for dinner and kind of a twist on shrimp and grits (a favorite of mine.) I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
A very nice combination (absolutely love grilling polenta) that we all agreed could have used a sauce of some kind and a little more cheese on the broccoli & peppers. The sausage is inherently dry but it's very tasty. We will make again with twists.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Since I am lazy, I didn't bother with steaming the broccoli first,, just threw it in the oven.. since I had time to roast it. This was delicious and I love roasted broccoli.. the ends get nice and crunchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
My store didn't carry Roasted Pepper & Asiago Chicken Sausage, so I substituted al fresco Sweet Italian Style Chicken Sausage. I made my own polenta using the Easy Polenta with Tomato Sauce recipe from this site. The dish was very good and easy to prepare, but it did seem a little dry. I think serving it with a tomato sauce would have made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RealCookingDiva
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was delicious! I didn't have any polenta or grits in the cubby, so I sub it with some hashbrown patties. The kids loved it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealCookingDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I made it with asparagus because I cannot have broccoli; it was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Simple, quick and easy to make.. will definitely make again in the summer time on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I felt a little gourmet putting this together! I have never made or eaten polenta before either. To cook the broccoli easier I steamed it in a covered bowl for 10 minutes, in 1" or so of water, flipping half way through. I loved the way it tasted once I drained it and added the ingredients. The only change I made was reducing the black pepper to 1/8 tsp and adding 2 small pinches of salt. I didn't see the point in heating up the house to bake the broccoli in the oven 2-3 minutes. I wanted to follow the recipe, so I did that. I wish I wouldn't have. The broccoli softened up too much, lost its brighter color, and the bitterness from the red peppers and lemons dominated. I definitely would not add the oven baking part. I also had to brown the polenta for 8 minutes on each side, to get golden. Overall, a pretty quick dish for how fancy it looked. My only complaint, is it did seem a little dry. Maybe, I could come up with a sauce to pull it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States