Roasted Broccoli & Crispy Polenta with Roasted Pepper & Asiago Chicken Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was okay....while each was just fine and tasty...to me could have used something to combine the components together, a sauce or something. As is...it was so so. Even if it's a rather healthy dish, needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
In order to save a little on time and the extra calories I steamed the broccoli instead of roasting. The lemon juice really enhanced the flavor of the broccoli. I also used sun-dried tomato polenta and it was a nice compliment to the chicken sausage. I love the crispy outside and creamy inside you get from grilling or fying polenta. To be so simple to put together - this dish really had a lot of flavor. I do think it needed some sort of sauce. Next time I would experiment with a roasted red pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This is an awesome option for a quick weeknight dinner! I actually made my own polenta (it was my first time - I usually stick to grits) so that part doesn't fit into the "quick" equation, but I think if I make it again I'm gonna skip the polenta, make grits, and save myself the step of having the fry the polenta. I added cheese to my polenta (how many times can I write "polenta" in this review? Let's find out!) so I didn't add any on top. Otherwise, I pretty much followed the recipe. I really liked the sausage with the polenta (there it is again!) because it was kind of like breakfast for dinner and kind of a twist on shrimp and grits (a favorite of mine.) I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
A very nice combination (absolutely love grilling polenta) that we all agreed could have used a sauce of some kind and a little more cheese on the broccoli & peppers. The sausage is inherently dry but it's very tasty. We will make again with twists.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Since I am lazy, I didn't bother with steaming the broccoli first,, just threw it in the oven.. since I had time to roast it. This was delicious and I love roasted broccoli.. the ends get nice and crunchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
My store didn't carry Roasted Pepper & Asiago Chicken Sausage, so I substituted al fresco Sweet Italian Style Chicken Sausage. I made my own polenta using the Easy Polenta with Tomato Sauce recipe from this site. The dish was very good and easy to prepare, but it did seem a little dry. I think serving it with a tomato sauce would have made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RealCookingDiva
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was delicious! I didn't have any polenta or grits in the cubby, so I sub it with some hashbrown patties. The kids loved it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealCookingDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I made it with asparagus because I cannot have broccoli; it was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Simple, quick and easy to make.. will definitely make again in the summer time on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I felt a little gourmet putting this together! I have never made or eaten polenta before either. To cook the broccoli easier I steamed it in a covered bowl for 10 minutes, in 1" or so of water, flipping half way through. I loved the way it tasted once I drained it and added the ingredients. The only change I made was reducing the black pepper to 1/8 tsp and adding 2 small pinches of salt. I didn't see the point in heating up the house to bake the broccoli in the oven 2-3 minutes. I wanted to follow the recipe, so I did that. I wish I wouldn't have. The broccoli softened up too much, lost its brighter color, and the bitterness from the red peppers and lemons dominated. I definitely would not add the oven baking part. I also had to brown the polenta for 8 minutes on each side, to get golden. Overall, a pretty quick dish for how fancy it looked. My only complaint, is it did seem a little dry. Maybe, I could come up with a sauce to pull it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States