Roasted Beets with Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This recipe made me like beets. I grew some beets in my garden for my neighbor and decided to try some myself. This recipe is really delicious even for a non-beet lover as I previously was. I found it was not necessary to wrap the beets in foil. I coated the beets in olive oil, then roasted them on a baking sheet. The red wine vinegar and feta is also a great combo in case you're out of balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This recipe is truely more than the sum of it's parts. I prepared the vinegarette and roasted and peeled the beets and refrigerated them overnight. The next day at lunch I sliced the beets and microwaved them for a minute. I then poured on the vinegrette and feta. Delicious! I used reduced fat feta and next time I will try the recipe with only one TBSP olive oil to cut the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This is amazing! I didn't even think I liked beets but this has me converted. I followed recipe exactly but added half an english cucumber. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique Klampert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I really enjoyed this, but my family did not. I suppose I can make it for one from now on. The beets were not quite tender after the 45 min, so I microwaved them for another 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
pouring 1 tablespoon of water while wrapping the beets into aluminum foil helps to peel easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This recipe is delicious as is, but I've made some modifications that IMO make it even better. I saute the shallot in a little olive oil. Once it's softened, almost carmelized I add rinsed, ripped pieces of the beet greens, then add 2-3 tablespoons of the dressing. Once the greens are wilted I add the feta, give it a swirl, then dish it out, placing the sliced beets on top and drizzle some of the remaining dressing overtop. I could eat this every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Outstanding dish. Perfect as is!!! I want a HUGE bowl!!! haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheriT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This recipe should be called Steamed Beets with Feta since that's what cooking in a foil packet is. If you peel and slice or dice the beets then pan roast with a little olive oil, S & P the natural sweetness of the beet comes through. It takes the same length of time and flavors are much more intense,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
We will be making this one again. I didn't change anything but I let people add feta as they saw fit at the table since I have a few that don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by She_Dragon

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States