Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Good recipe for root vegetables. Too much pepper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Since beets are considered a super food, I needed a way to like them (cannot stand canned beets). Dr. Oz says to roast them, so tried this recipe. Recommend using half the pepper & a little more sugar -- 1 tbsp? (next time). For just my husband & I, I used 3 fresh beets and 1 large yam. Only had a brown onion on hand, and it all worked out great. The mild sweetness makes it likeable for kids too. Really a terrific recipe. Now, what to do with those beet greens. . .(ha)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebLeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I love this recipe! I'm always looking for new ways to prepare beets and this is a keeper. It's the perfect blend of sweet and salty. I also made it with Truvia instead of sugar and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacoko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Wonderful! I sauteed the beet greens with some sliced pork and onion to complete the meal, very nutrient dense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chitina, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Fabulous recipe! I made this last fall for a group of visitors out in a public garden where I work--we get a taste from the garden and a tip appropo from the season. Everyone loved it! Thank you for a great (and colorful) recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ..thru his stomach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Made 1/3 of the recipe but at full seasoning (no sugar) and regular potato, not sweet. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Amazing!! SOOO GOOD. Even my meat eating husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
So yummy! Used real garlic, eliminated the sugar and added a dash of cayenne pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Mine was very spicy.. I was confused at what made them so spicy. It is good, but some of my vegetables were undercooked. If it is the pepper that makes it spicy, then I would recommend decreasing the pepper and using canned beets. Some of my beets had a hard coating, like I didn't peel the beet skin enough. That's why I would recommend canned beets, plus it's less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Make this all the time now that we grow beets in the garden. In fact, we probably grow beets because of this recipe lol. I've swapped the sweet potatoes for carrots and still turns out great...just add the carrots later since they cook way faster (last 20 minutes is all that's needed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juno_lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States