Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I must admit I did a few variations. It was the first time I tried it and it turned out wonderful. I had beets of various colours but of the same size (smallish). I also had smallish yams. I washed, peeled and sliced beets and yams 1/3 inch. I brushed some extra virgin olive oil on both sides of the vegetables. I didn't add anything to the beets (the golden are already pretty sweet). I brushed the oil on the yams as well and I sprinkled tarragon and black pepper on them. I also cut two pears in 1/2, oiled both sides and sprinkled tarragon on skin side. I put everything in the oven at 375 F until ready (30 - 35 min). I cut the pears and mixed them with the beets and the yams. I sprinkled some white jalapeno and pear balsamic vinegar. It turned out very tasty. The recipe was nice and simple and easy to make changes to. I like that a lot in a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This was great! Very colorful for the Thanksgiving table. Tasted good...I added some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I don't have a lot of experience with beets. This will make me eat them far more often. I added carrots and it came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracey
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This dish is amazing! I already love roasted beets and adding sweet potatoes and onions is a GREAT addition! I made it just like the recipe said. One thing I may try next time is drizzling a balsamic vinegar on it when serving. I will certainly be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Fantastic. I used one very large sweet potato and 5 medium beets along with the onion. This made a full cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennylaika

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
My husband has requested I prepare it for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greatest Shopper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This was very good, excellent taste. Really Yummy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This is a very good recipe but I can't give it 5 stars as written. I cut the salt and pepper by 1/2 and it was still too much salt and pepper for us. Also, the beets need to roast 15-20 min. longer than stated before adding the sweet potato (or chop beets smaller so they cook faster). My beets needed more roasting, even though I baked them 10 min. longer than the recipe calls for. Other than that, its delicious. I used brown sugar as per others' suggestion. Add your favourite spices or herbs to take it to the next level. A very colourful dish, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gyspygirl247
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I added a baking potato since I had one to use. My house smells amazing. This may have been because I used more garlic powder. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States