Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
So yummy! Used real garlic, eliminated the sugar and added a dash of cayenne pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Mine was very spicy.. I was confused at what made them so spicy. It is good, but some of my vegetables were undercooked. If it is the pepper that makes it spicy, then I would recommend decreasing the pepper and using canned beets. Some of my beets had a hard coating, like I didn't peel the beet skin enough. That's why I would recommend canned beets, plus it's less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Make this all the time now that we grow beets in the garden. In fact, we probably grow beets because of this recipe lol. I've swapped the sweet potatoes for carrots and still turns out great...just add the carrots later since they cook way faster (last 20 minutes is all that's needed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juno_lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Wonderful! I went with the fresh garlic (just left whole, baked during the final 15min to avoid burning), also left the beets longer to bake, as other Reviewers, I found the beets needed more than 15min's head-start. I didn't do the bag mix, either. Just dashed the salt & pepper all over, having put the oil in the pan and stirred the veggies pre-cooking to ensure they were properly covered. Also, I skipped the sugar. The sweet potatoes were sweet enough as they were. So good. Can't wait to make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Thank you for this recipe!! This combination is great with quinoa. Because I love experimenting with flavors, here’s my variation on it (in a round roaster in the oven): 1 large sweet potato 3 small beets from my garden 1/4 an onion 3 cloves of garlic pumpkin seeds juice from 1/2 an orange splash of red wine leftover from last night olive oil brown sugar salt pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I forgot the onion and it was still good. used the advice of another reviewer and only used two beets and one sweet potato. I also used more olive oil. Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Delicious! Based on other reviews, it cut the beets & potatoes on the small side and cooked for the time noted in the recipe. Both were firm but cooked through. Whirled the beets up in Baby Bullet for my youngest and she gobbled them up. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Easy, good and nutritious. I followed the recipe exactly. Will make again and often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I followed some of the advice on the reviews, such as halfing the amount of pepper, increasing amount of sugar to 1 Tblsp, and substituting brown sugar. Also, all I had were yellow onions, but still this was great. My kids couldn't get enough of this dish! I also reduced the heat to 350 during the last 20 minutes of baking time, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Was very good, still not loving the beets, but way better then canned beets. I added cumin and cinnamon too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States