Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CA cook
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I made this last night. I modified the recipe a bit; I added fresh minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I also added two potatoes (cut the same size as the other vegetables) since I had them sitting around. :-) Next time I will cook the beets longer since they were still pretty hard whereas the sweet potatoes were soft at the end.... maybe 25 minutes alone. It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CA cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I love beets and yams....delicious recipe. Crumbled some feta on it for a more main vegetarian dinner. It makes a lot but for a more main course, perfect for 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Delicious! I think the beets were a little too done, and so I wouldn't cook them for the extra 15 minutes at the beginning. That could have been because I chopped them too small, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
A couple points to make about roasted veggies. If you roast @ 425, your veggies will carmelize and sweeten up on their own--no need to add sugar at all. Onions carmelize into pieces of 'candy', and don't resemble taste or texture of a raw onion. As for the garlic, I add the whole cloves, and let them roast whole, as well. Sometimes I smash a couple cloves slightly with the flat of the knife to release garlic oil, then toss with veggies, olive oil, and salt. I roast most my veggies now, because it's so forgiving. I can keep them in the over until rest of dinner is ready: asparagus, cauliflower, onion wedges, brussels sprouts, potatoes, etc. Never had a bad roasted veggie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This tastes great! I don't think it even needs the sugar. (Or maybe just use half?) I chopped the onion pretty small and some of them blackened in the oven, which turned out to be a nice added crunch to the dish. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I have recently began having vegetables delivered from a local farm and chose the famrmer's choice to try new vegetables that I would never buy on my own. Having a batch of beets and not being familiar with them I found this recipe to try and really enjoyed it. I will try adding some goat cheese as others have suggested in the future. The good thing about this recipe is it was enjoyed both hot out of the oven and cold the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This has been s big hit each time I made it for "crowds" big and small. This is a great recipe for those that don't like sweet potatoes; the beet and onion medley tones down the sweetest of the sweet potatoes and turns it into a sweet and savory dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Not only this delicious warm, it was "out of sight" cold, with avocado, pistachios and goat cheese over a bed of greens. Probably the most delicious and memorable lunch I've had in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Excellent! During the summer we bbq these. Slice they up, butter, green onions, salt & pepper. Wrap up in tin foil. People who didn't particularly like beets LOVE them. I always have to do 2 packages. So sweet and delicious! Thanx for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
LOVE! This quickly became a fall/winter staple as soon as I first made it. I'll sometimes add cubed honey nut or butternut squash if I have any on hand but this recipe, as is, is truly lovely. Thanks a million for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miscibility

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States