Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I also added about 4 carrots sliced into thick pieces which I roasted the same time as the beets. Added more olive oil by eyeing it til all were well covered and added a couple dashes red pepper flakes. Going to try adding some apple chunks and maybe even pumpkin next time as well. Great fall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Perfect veggie dish. Great fall side dish. I did also add carrots, cooking them with the beets. Otherwise I found recipe ingredients were a good blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdeppel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This was really good - simple ingredients, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This recipe was amazing! I substituted real garlic and pared the whole thing down for 2 people. Even a couple of beet hating people LOVED this! MMMMmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
LOVED this recipe! I made adjustments to suit my own taste and made this dish over the top for me. My only disappointment was my beets were not "beet red" so the colors didn't pop as much as I wanted them to. I added some dried sage to the garlic, salt, sugar, pepper and oil with the potatoes and onions. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper for a little heat. Can I say this enough? I LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
i must say i really dont like sweet potatoes but this recepee its great made me like them . i did add to the marinade raw garlic , anise powder 1/3. teaspoon and same amount ginger . the recipe its delish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
simple with lots of flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
My kids will eat it, but need some coaxing. We parents, really liked this one. I followed the recipe except that I never use plastic so I just tossed the sweet potatoes with onions and other ingredients in a bowl; no need for the bag. When it was time to add the rest to the baking sheet, I actually poured the hot beets into my pyrex bowl that had the oil, potatoes, etc, mixed it up and poured it back out onto the sheet. I found it really difficult to mix on a baking sheet - the pieces kept falling off (step 3) so I again, just poured it all into the bowl and back to the sheet - the mixing is important to redistribute the juices that form. Chunks of Vidalia onion work really well and we used white sweet potatoes. Chopping can be done the night before - which is so key for us - so you only have to plan for the 45 min of mixing/cooking before dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I made this dish for dinner tonight and we just loved it! I reduced the amount if pepper and omitted the onions given that I was serving it to my kids and a few of their friends...the end result was delicious! I slapped on a pair of latex gloves to peel my beets and roasted them for 20 minutes, added the sweet potatoes and cooked for another 35-40 minutes. The end result was great and we will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I just made this for the second time and it was still as good as I remember it. I like onion and garlic - so added both fresh - and it was not overpowering. I also added some fresh rosemary and next time will add more. As many people have said that serving it with some goat cheese makes it even better, it's like the icing on the cake to me. Cut the potatoes and beets into smaller pieces for it to cook faster. I also lowered the heat to start and then bumped it up for the last 20 minutes. Can't go wrong with this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Amanda Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States