Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I love this recipe! I'm always looking for new ways to prepare beets and this is a keeper. It's the perfect blend of sweet and salty. I also made it with Truvia instead of sugar and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacoko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Wonderful! I sauteed the beet greens with some sliced pork and onion to complete the meal, very nutrient dense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chitina, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Fabulous recipe! I made this last fall for a group of visitors out in a public garden where I work--we get a taste from the garden and a tip appropo from the season. Everyone loved it! Thank you for a great (and colorful) recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ..thru his stomach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Made 1/3 of the recipe but at full seasoning (no sugar) and regular potato, not sweet. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Amazing!! SOOO GOOD. Even my meat eating husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
So yummy! Used real garlic, eliminated the sugar and added a dash of cayenne pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Mine was very spicy.. I was confused at what made them so spicy. It is good, but some of my vegetables were undercooked. If it is the pepper that makes it spicy, then I would recommend decreasing the pepper and using canned beets. Some of my beets had a hard coating, like I didn't peel the beet skin enough. That's why I would recommend canned beets, plus it's less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Make this all the time now that we grow beets in the garden. In fact, we probably grow beets because of this recipe lol. I've swapped the sweet potatoes for carrots and still turns out great...just add the carrots later since they cook way faster (last 20 minutes is all that's needed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juno_lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Wonderful! I went with the fresh garlic (just left whole, baked during the final 15min to avoid burning), also left the beets longer to bake, as other Reviewers, I found the beets needed more than 15min's head-start. I didn't do the bag mix, either. Just dashed the salt & pepper all over, having put the oil in the pan and stirred the veggies pre-cooking to ensure they were properly covered. Also, I skipped the sugar. The sweet potatoes were sweet enough as they were. So good. Can't wait to make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Thank you for this recipe!! This combination is great with quinoa. Because I love experimenting with flavors, here’s my variation on it (in a round roaster in the oven): 1 large sweet potato 3 small beets from my garden 1/4 an onion 3 cloves of garlic pumpkin seeds juice from 1/2 an orange splash of red wine leftover from last night olive oil brown sugar salt pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States