Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This is so good- If you think you don't like beets, you're wrong! Make them this way and you'll be a beetaholic! This recipe make A LOT as written- for 4 adults I use 2 beets and 1 good sized yam and it's exactly the right amount. I do it in bowls, no need to waste a bag. I cut down the oil and use just enough to coat. I use brown sugar too, but either way it's delicious and healthy! I bake beets alone 20m, add yams and seasoning and red onion, then bake add'l 40m. LOVE this dish! FYI beets do turn your pee a bit pinkish the next day, so don't panic =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Excellent, yummy. Substituted fresh garlic for powder, increased sugar to 1 tablespoon and substitued brown sugar for its maple flavor. Very Very good. The last 20 minutes of cooking I turned the oven down to 350 degrees as to not dry out the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Great dish! I made this for both the Thanksgiving dinners we went to this year. My mom and grandmom don't like sweet potatoes but raved over this recipe. My aunt quickly called dibs on the small amount of leftovers we had. I ended up eating only a small portion because I was feeding our 18-month-old twins from my plate and they couldn't get enough! One of DH's cousins even called the next day to get the recipe. Two changes I made: (1) 1/2 the pepper -- the pepper completely overpowered the dish otherwise, and (2) I used canned beets cause that's all I had on hand. One can = 3 beets called for in recipe. I didn't cook them ahead; just threw them into pan with the rest and cooked for 45 minutes. Everything came out tender and delicious! My grandmom, the sweet-potato-hater, asked me to bring the same dish to Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Amazingly good! My one year old kept stealing it off my plate. My three year old thought it was too spicy. Next time I will make a little side dish for her with out blk pepper. You don't need to waste a plastic bag though. Just put spices and oil in a bowl and toss in the beets. Pull beets out with fork or slotted spoon and put in pan to roast. Then toss in your sweet potatoes. Then mix well when you add the sweets to the beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
YUMMY! We really like this combination. I'm not a fan of any kind of onion so I always leave that out, but I've made this now exactly as stated as well as a few variations, such as using pumpkin pie spice instead of the garlic, salt & pepper. Or I use butternut squash in combination with the beets and sweet potatoes. Any way you dice it and spice it, this recipe is a winner! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RioChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saxtons River, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
very tasty dish. I prefer to use fresh garlic over garlic powder so I minced four cloves of garlic and mixed them in. I didn't have an onion on hand so I left that out. When it was done cooking I put some of it on my salad with a little goat cheese. Goat cheese and beets make such a tasty combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I made this for family at Thanksgiving and then for co-workers at a pot luck. Those who tried it LOVED it and requested the recipe. I agree with other reviewers that you have to like beets to like the recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
So good! I wish I kept these vegetables on hand more often! I took a picture to show off how pretty it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Loved it. Melted in my mouth. Next time I will probably cook the beets at least 5 more minutes, because they were a little less cooked than the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
What a wonderful flavor & color combination! I have beets I'm still using, found this recipe & loved it! However, I hate the mess & aggravation of peeling raw beets, so I roasted them first (with a little olive oil); when they were almost done, I let them cool & they were much easier to peel. I don't think they bleed quite as much either. By roasting them before combining, you can reduce the overall cooking time & you're guaranteed tender beets. Thanks for a delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States