Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This recipe was amazing! I substituted real garlic and pared the whole thing down for 2 people. Even a couple of beet hating people LOVED this! MMMMmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
LOVED this recipe! I made adjustments to suit my own taste and made this dish over the top for me. My only disappointment was my beets were not "beet red" so the colors didn't pop as much as I wanted them to. I added some dried sage to the garlic, salt, sugar, pepper and oil with the potatoes and onions. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper for a little heat. Can I say this enough? I LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
i must say i really dont like sweet potatoes but this recepee its great made me like them . i did add to the marinade raw garlic , anise powder 1/3. teaspoon and same amount ginger . the recipe its delish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
simple with lots of flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
My kids will eat it, but need some coaxing. We parents, really liked this one. I followed the recipe except that I never use plastic so I just tossed the sweet potatoes with onions and other ingredients in a bowl; no need for the bag. When it was time to add the rest to the baking sheet, I actually poured the hot beets into my pyrex bowl that had the oil, potatoes, etc, mixed it up and poured it back out onto the sheet. I found it really difficult to mix on a baking sheet - the pieces kept falling off (step 3) so I again, just poured it all into the bowl and back to the sheet - the mixing is important to redistribute the juices that form. Chunks of Vidalia onion work really well and we used white sweet potatoes. Chopping can be done the night before - which is so key for us - so you only have to plan for the 45 min of mixing/cooking before dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I made this dish for dinner tonight and we just loved it! I reduced the amount if pepper and omitted the onions given that I was serving it to my kids and a few of their friends...the end result was delicious! I slapped on a pair of latex gloves to peel my beets and roasted them for 20 minutes, added the sweet potatoes and cooked for another 35-40 minutes. The end result was great and we will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I just made this for the second time and it was still as good as I remember it. I like onion and garlic - so added both fresh - and it was not overpowering. I also added some fresh rosemary and next time will add more. As many people have said that serving it with some goat cheese makes it even better, it's like the icing on the cake to me. Cut the potatoes and beets into smaller pieces for it to cook faster. I also lowered the heat to start and then bumped it up for the last 20 minutes. Can't go wrong with this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Amanda Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I was a little nervous about making beets for the first time. This was easy and delicious (although it did take a long time). I peeled the sweet potatoes as well as the beets. I might experiment with the seasonings, although my husband thought it was perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Kids needed extra sugar and didn't like the onions. We didn't use sweet potatoes.. Adults loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
As much as I try, I just can't get into beets. I just don't really like them. That said, this recipe made them actually enjoyable. The sweet from the potatoes really cut down on the earthiness of the beats and I enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States