Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I found this recipe tasty but the black pepper was TOO MUCH. I even tried rinsing some of the pepper off after cooking and couldn't. I tried pawning it off on other people and although the recipe ingredients are all delicious, the pepper was too much for every tongue that tried it. If you have lots of tastebuds like me and are sensitive to pepper, cut the pepper down to 1/4 of a teaspoon or none at all. Tried it without pepper and it was much better. Beets were sweet and earthy and, as usual, the sweet potatoes were like dessert. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookingFanatic
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I made this recipe tonight for the first time. I pulled it up on my phone to remind me of the ingredients and directions. I left out the sugar by accident...but it turned out that I didn't need it cause it was sweet on its own. I absolutely loved it!!! I will be making this again for Thanksgiving or whenever I can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Absolutely amazing and a visual stunner! I have added Brussels sprouts before to make a tricolour version too. I make it every year for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I made this recipe using beets only as someone else was bringing a sweet potato dish to the Thanksgiving dinner I was going to. I used about 20-30 beets..fresh locally grown candy cane beets.These beets got rave reviews from all who tried them..even some of the kids! would like to try the full recipe with sweet potatoes soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I roast a lot of root veggies, but never combined sweet potatoes and beets before, and it's a great combination with the onion. Used fresh garlic, and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I also added about 4 carrots sliced into thick pieces which I roasted the same time as the beets. Added more olive oil by eyeing it til all were well covered and added a couple dashes red pepper flakes. Going to try adding some apple chunks and maybe even pumpkin next time as well. Great fall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Perfect veggie dish. Great fall side dish. I did also add carrots, cooking them with the beets. Otherwise I found recipe ingredients were a good blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdeppel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This was really good - simple ingredients, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This recipe was amazing! I substituted real garlic and pared the whole thing down for 2 people. Even a couple of beet hating people LOVED this! MMMMmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
LOVED this recipe! I made adjustments to suit my own taste and made this dish over the top for me. My only disappointment was my beets were not "beet red" so the colors didn't pop as much as I wanted them to. I added some dried sage to the garlic, salt, sugar, pepper and oil with the potatoes and onions. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper for a little heat. Can I say this enough? I LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States