Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I'd have given it 5 stars but it needed some extra seasoning. I added rosemary & sage. Otherwise, this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I will start by saying that I've never liked beets. They taste like dirt to me. But they came in today's CSA box and I wasn't about to compost them. That being said, this was the least-bad they've ever tasted to me. The sweet potatoes and onions, however, were delicious. So, 5 stars (didn't think it was fair to dock points due to my prejudice against the beets, next time I'll use carrots or white potatoes...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRVRBS31GAL
Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Yummy just as written and lots of ideas for adding other veggies. Don't forget a sheet of lightly oiled foil for the easiest cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Edge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
It was with trepidation that I tried this recipe, trying to find a way to use up the fresh beets I'd purchased for xmas, only to be told by my family not to serve them. Since I just happened to have sweet potatoes and onions on hand I decided to make this recipe and was I pleasantly surprised. It was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Everybody loved it! I used yams instead of sweet potatoes. I cooked the beets for 1 1/2 hrs, covered them to speed up the cooking and only mixed them with yams & onions at the end, to prevent the yams from turning completely red. Makes alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Amazing....love the mix of the beets and sweet potatoes. I love spicy food so I also sprinkled some red pepper flakes on them...excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Threw in some garlic cloves and omitted the sugar. Loved the roasted flavor of the veggies! Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was good but not exceptional. It was a little boring for my tastes. I would put the seasoning on the beets too and add more of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
The coating for the sweet potatoes is the perfect blend of sweet, salty and peppery-ness. The density and sweetness of the potatoes really makes a nice contrast with the light juicy texture of the beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was delicious, simple, a great addition to our holiday dinner. We weren't able to use sheet pans once the sweet potatoes were added because of the volume of food we needed to make. We used casserole dishes and increased the temp to 425 and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make a simple, healthy veggie side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States