Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Made it for Easter dinner. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmkrahn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
this is a great recipe.the only change i made was i used rudabaga instead of sweet potato.you get all the benefits of the fresh vegatables and enjoy the taste of each .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I loved this and it presents beautifully! Also, it warms up very well (if you have any left). I used 4 cloves of minced garlic instead of the garlic powder. Also, I used the tip from another review and tossed the sweet potatoes, garlic, and oil in a bowl with a top in an effort to not waste a plastic bag. I brought some to a co-worker who claims to hate beets but he loved this dish. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
On second time around, I "enhanced" the recipe. After cutting the beets & sweet potatoes into chunks, I par-boiled them for 8-10 minutes to make tenderer, then drained well. Placed beets & potatoes in large bowl and drizzled oil all over, then added onions and dry ingredients (including 1/2 t. sweet mesquite seasoning and pinch of cayenne pepper); tossed well. Spread on sheet pan and baked per instructions -- except, cut baking time to 25 minutes. Voilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Fantastic! Very easy to prepare and it's even easier to enjoy! The only thing I changed was that I used minced garlic instead of garlic powder. These roasted veggies also look great on dinner plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Perfect, although it needs 1 Tbsp brown sugar instead of white! Recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CA cook
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I made this last night. I modified the recipe a bit; I added fresh minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I also added two potatoes (cut the same size as the other vegetables) since I had them sitting around. :-) Next time I will cook the beets longer since they were still pretty hard whereas the sweet potatoes were soft at the end.... maybe 25 minutes alone. It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CA cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I love beets and yams....delicious recipe. Crumbled some feta on it for a more main vegetarian dinner. It makes a lot but for a more main course, perfect for 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Delicious! I think the beets were a little too done, and so I wouldn't cook them for the extra 15 minutes at the beginning. That could have been because I chopped them too small, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
A couple points to make about roasted veggies. If you roast @ 425, your veggies will carmelize and sweeten up on their own--no need to add sugar at all. Onions carmelize into pieces of 'candy', and don't resemble taste or texture of a raw onion. As for the garlic, I add the whole cloves, and let them roast whole, as well. Sometimes I smash a couple cloves slightly with the flat of the knife to release garlic oil, then toss with veggies, olive oil, and salt. I roast most my veggies now, because it's so forgiving. I can keep them in the over until rest of dinner is ready: asparagus, cauliflower, onion wedges, brussels sprouts, potatoes, etc. Never had a bad roasted veggie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States