Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
We loved this! The vinegar added to the greens after cooking brought out a sweetness in the greens. My beets took twice as long to cook so they weren't ready with the rest of the meal, but they were so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiselput

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Yum, yum, yum! This was so good! I've never cooked beets before and I'm so glad I picked this recipe for my first time. Hubby and I both really enjoyed this dish. I tried the red wine vinegar on some and butter/S&P on some and enjoyed both, but I think I like the butter/S&P best. These are good with goat cheese also. Will definitely make again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Surprisingly I loved this. My husband loves beets but I never cook them because they aren't something I usually like. This was really good and will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I will never buy canned beets again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mezo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This was pretty good, I would make it again, but not a regular in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSeussFreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I didn't think I liked beets, but I've changed my mind after I got some homegrown beets from a friend and found this recipe. I nuked them until soft and then peeled them once they cooled down a bit. The stained fingers are well worth this delicious dish. I will be looking for fresh beets next time at the market!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
only had 2 lg beets and they baked forever,and still didn't get soft. So I peeled them and used bok choy for the greens,as they came without tops.Hubs n I enjoyed these, but I think fresh beets are too messy to deal with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Easthampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I bought some fresh beets today for another recipe but wanted a way to use the greens. THis recipe was EXACTLY the right choice! They were AMAZING! I made them exactly as written and just sprinkled some S&P on them when they were finished. So good! I agree with another reviewer..they really should sell these like they do other greens. I think they are better than spinach, and I LOVE spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
What a great way to use the whole beet! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I had never tried beets before, or the beet greens. I am not really a cook at all, so I can't say that I've ever even sauteed something. That said, I followed this and the beets and greens came out lovely! I was particularly happy with the greens. I used a corningware style baking dish with a glass lid, and it took a little longer to cook. I put things in for 70 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States