Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Amazing, everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was the first time I've ever cooked a green other than spinach. Wow! Really really liked it. The garlic bits ended up being extremely pretty pink accents in the midst of the dark green leaves which was also an unexpected visual treat. I also cut up the beets and tossed them with a bit of feta cheese, white balsamic vinegar and the oil they were baked in (as the recipe suggests). WOW. That was amazing. Will definitely be doing this again. BTW, roasting with the skins on - thank god for that tip. A few months ago I tried to peel them first. Totally bad idea. This method is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janet
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
The flavors of the earth come together in this dish. I roasted my beets with a little balsamic vinegar and rosemary and served with a dijon-yogurt sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Turned out great. Only difference instead of olive oil and used Italian dressing on the roasted beets. Also added a few crush pepper flakes to the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Strasser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Husband even liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Tried this last night on my first-ever homegrown beets and my first time ever cooking beets. This was simple and perfect. I ended up sprinkling the beets with a little salt, fresh parsley & lemon and also added fresh ginger to the saute. Nice, fresh and easy! My husband loved both dishes, so thanks for helping me make him eat his vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shafofo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
awesome!! i actually already had the beets boiling and wanted to try to use the greens as i've never cooked them before. can't believe i've been throwing them out all these years!! i thought the red wine vinegar was weird but now i think that was the best part!!! ate the greens alone and they were phenomenal!!! reminded me of something between swiss chard and polish cooked cabbage (because of the onions and vinegar). rock solid!!! wish i could just buy the beet greens by themselves now!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I roasted it 1.25 hours but it was still a little too crunchy. Peeling it after roasting in oil wasn't such a good idea considering how slippery it was :/ The flavors were pretty good. I didn't have red wine vinegar, so I just used red wine vinaigrette right across the board. I think in the future I'll steam it long enough to be able to peel it, then cover and roast it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Wow, what a great side dish! I enjoy beets but have only had them cold on top of my salad. Per other's suggestions, I sauteed some shitake mushrooms along with the greens. Mixed both the beets and greens together then added a generous sprinkle of feta. I didn't add any additional butter or vinegar. It came out great. At first glance my boyfriend was going to pass this up but then he went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This is a regular menu item in our house, we LOVE it. However, there is one small addition we make that we believe is KEY: toasted, chopped pecans. Sprinkled on top at the end. It rounds out the flavors and texture perfectly. Seriously folks, add the pecans. We serve it on olive oil and garlic couscous (NearEast brand). SOOO YUMMY. Quinoa works too, but isn't as flavorful and takes longer. Tips: Make sure to cover the beets or they take twice as long to cook; we use foil over our pyrex dish. Double this recipe for 2 adults and a bit of leftovers. Add more garlic/onions depending on your tastes. HIGHLY recommended even for the beet-resistant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States