Roasted Beet and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Really delicious! This didn't taste heavily of beets to me, but nice, balanced, creamy and lightly sweet. I added 4 cloves of garlic instead of one, and used 1/2 cup of half-and-half instead of 1 1/2 of whole milk to keep the soup thicker but still creamy. Delicious and cheap. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I made this soup tonight for Halloween dinner, it was absolutely scrumptious. I did not puree it fully, I left it a little chunky, the flavour with the roasted beets and potatoes definately adds to the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
this soup is also a really gorgeous color when it's done-- very pretty on the table. i hope you all enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Mmmmm!!!! This beautiful megenta color soup is so tasty and delicious!!!! I modified it a bit - I skipped the roasting part (and skipped peeling the red skinned potatoes) and just sauted all the chopped vegetables in a large soup pot. I omitted the thyme - (i dont like it) and instead, after i pureed the soup i added freshly chopped dill. I used soy milk instead of milk. i was a but skeptical about the milk and lemon juice, so i tried the soup before i added those ingredients, then added them and it really balanced the sweetness of the beets. I am glad i added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Very tasty! I altered the recipe slightly- no thyme and instead used chives and parmesan cheese as garnish- and didn't really follow the quantities so it was thicker than expected but still so delicious! The addition of milk and lemon juice definitely made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
this recipe is fantastic and beautiful to boot. the vegetable mixture actually ended up cooking down quite a bit for me, so the texture and thickness ended up perfect; no modifications necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Delicious. I really enjoyed this soup. I would add more beets next time. Additionally I used fresh thyme not dried and it was perfect. I also added some cooked chicken pieces to the soup when I served it to make it a more complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Excellent and hearty soup. It is a great starting point for all sorts of adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This soup is DELICIOUS! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Really good soup! I replaced the potatoes by sweet potatoes and poured it half and half in a bowl. I served it with a crispy bread and some brie. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States