Roasted Beet and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Have to say, I hate it when someone rates the recipe after altering it but here I go (was trying to use up leftover misc things in my fridge from Christmas). First off, I used an acorn squash in add'n to the potato and beets (roasted as directed). I used leeks instead of the onion. For the chick broth, I used 1 cup chick broth (all that I had left), 2 cups vegetable broth and 1 cup white wine (btw-"Better than Bouillon" is awesome). For the milk, I used 1 cup hvy cream and 1/2 cup 1% milk (what I had on hand). This was EXCELLENT but rich. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This soup was excellent! Once pureed, it was very creamy and flavorful. I love that it did not require many ingredients and was very easy to make. The only changes I made were that I forgot to add the lemon juice and I didn't have any celery, but I was equally happy with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
i was immensely blown away at the most gourmet, savory flavor of this soup. I don't like beets much in general. I thought this recipe toned the strong flavor of it down . The spices and the roasting is the key to the flavor. id make this again and again! not to mention the color! how beautiful. thing is we ate it hot - so i left out the lemon and i also used soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
It is one of my absolute favorite soups. I like to leave mine a little chunky so I just don't blend it as long. I serve it with homemade crostinis and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Really good soup! I replaced the potatoes by sweet potatoes and poured it half and half in a bowl. I served it with a crispy bread and some brie. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This soup is DELICIOUS! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was a hit at a “Russian night” dinner party- many compliments. I made some slight changes. It had a tiny bit of potato texture and a nice raspberry color. I think I put a bit too much garlic and black pepper but everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
A bit bland flavor-wise, so I had to add more pepper, salt, and also about a teaspoon of Tabasco smoked chipotle pepper sauce. To be honest, I am not a big fan of beets in general, but after adding to this recipe as noted, the soup made it possible for me to eat beets. In the future, I might also add some ham or Italian sausage to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I made this soup tonight for Halloween dinner, it was absolutely scrumptious. I did not puree it fully, I left it a little chunky, the flavour with the roasted beets and potatoes definately adds to the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Really delicious! This didn't taste heavily of beets to me, but nice, balanced, creamy and lightly sweet. I added 4 cloves of garlic instead of one, and used 1/2 cup of half-and-half instead of 1 1/2 of whole milk to keep the soup thicker but still creamy. Delicious and cheap. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States