Roasted Beet and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Melissa Smith
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Made exactly as directed with one exception, I stopped at one cup of whole milk because I really liked the texture at that point. Delicious recipe and beautiful color! Will definitely be making this again. Also I'd recommend this as serving no more than four. Husband and I split a full recipe as a side dish and it was quite filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
really really good, I used carrots instead of potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Doubled the veggies, and added garlic and carrots to the roasting pan. Put a pint of heavy cream in the end to finish too. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I thought it was really good. I loved the smoky taste and the smell, and the lemon juice balances nicely the sweetness, I added more of it, though. Unfortunately, my 3 year old and 11 month old were not thrilled about this soup, but I wasn't going to base my rating on their pickiness. I enjoyed it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA
Living In: Shirley, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
My husband is not normally a fan of beets and we definitely enjoyed this. I did not follow the recipe exactly. I used 3 large beets and one medium sized potato. Substituted vegetable broth for chicken broth since that is what I had available. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Out of this world. I made it as called for but used one minor substitution - a shallot instead of onion because it's what I had on hand. Forget any idea of altering or adjusting or adding weird things like hot sauce. Hot sauce? The recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Tastier than anticipated, that's for sure! Will definately put on my "regulars" list of meals. The only altering done was that I had very small potatoes and only small four beets which made my recipe small so I eye-balled the broth and (1%) milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Super yummy. I veganized it really simply by switching the chicken stock to veggie, and the milk to cashew cream. I mashed it with a potato masher bc cleaning my immersion blender is a pain. Love it! My husband asked me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Good soup. We needed to add a little something to tweak it. I added cayenne pepper. Garlic croutons worked, too. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Amazingly simple and delicious! I made a double batch then added an extra cup each of beets and potatoes as I wanted to use up what I had. Served eight happy campers for dinner. What a great way to incorporate beets into a meal! This is a fabulous starter soup that can be tweaked in so many ways. Glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of five

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States